Daily Archives: September 24, 2008

Math 101

cat
more animals

Every parent has had moments like this!  It’s not just a job, it’s an adventure!  I’ve had a crappy day, and while I was sitting here going through some LOLcats, wondering what to blog about, once I saw this one, I knew I’d blog about my crappy day.  Aren’t you glad?  ;) 

You may, or may not, be aware that I homeschool my son.  He’s a bright boy, and I taught him to read when he was 5.  But math has been a real struggle.  For some reason, he just doesn’t seem to get the concept of addition, let alone subtraction.  Every day it seems we make progress, and then the next day it’s like we have to start all over again at the beginning.  Today he basically went into meltdown mode and I’m at a give-up point.  Which breaks my heart because I so believe in home-school.  But, for various reason, public school really isn’t an option right now, and private school – ROFLMAO!  Yeah, right!  So when my husband called while on the train home from work, I told him about it, and he sat down with the Little Prince after he got home and went over some math with him.  But I know it’ll be back to square one tomorrow.  I’ve tried everything I can think of to get my son to understand the concept of numbers and that this many plus this many equals that many.  I’ve tried pennies, pencils, blocks, fingers, toes, even marshmallows because he loves them so much.  I have flash cards, the math books that came with my curriculum, even supplemental math books from other sources.  I’m ready to make him start counting the hairs I yank out of my head in frustration. 

So I’m wondering, what was it that helped math click for you when you were a kid?  What helped you understand the concepts of addition and subtraction?  Was there an “AHA!” moment for you? 

 

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

©DarcsFalcon

Categories: Family Life | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Proudly powered by WordPress Theme: Adventure Journal by Contexture International.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,943 other followers

