Daily Archives: September 2, 2009

Control, Alt, Delete

Hmm.  What could I tell you about today?  Honestly, I have no clue.  I hate those moments when you sit down to write out all the things that were on your mind earlier and all of a sudden your brain says, “Huh?”  I swear, tons of things go through my mind during the day but when I sit down to write, all those thoughts and ideas have wandered off somewhere – probably Bermuda – and left me high and dry. 

So … I took a shower.  I was thinking high and wet had to be better than high and dry, right? 

Not so much.image

Actually, I’ve had a thing on my mind for a few months now.  I guess I sort of need to vent about it a little.  Very long story short, a friend of mine has had to deal with some of my long discarded baggage simply because she’s a friend of mine.  She’s been the kind of friend everyone wants to have, and refused to let me apologize, saying, “You’re not responsible for their behavior, don’t sweat it.”  Seriously, how great of a friend is that?  I still feel guilty though, that my crap has gotten on her.  I never meant that to happen.  I can only hope the situation has been handled, and so far it seems to be, but time will tell.  Some people just don’t like realizing they’ve been discarded and think they have certain rights when they don’t.  You can’t just butt your way into people’s lives and make demands, and tell them they have no choices or rights or control concerning the relationship.  Relationships may be a 2-way street, but if one of those people decides to end the relationship, it’s a unilateral thing and you can’t force the other person to stay in a relationship if they don’t want to.  Really, who needs such an abusive, manipulative bully in their life?  Can I have an amen?  You get where I’m coming from, right?

It reminds me of a Star Trek TNG episode I saw not long ago.  There was a woman who decided she wanted to have a romantic relationship with Data, the robot.  He tried to accommodate her, even going so far as to create a “dating program” so he could play the right role for her.  In the end, she realized that expecting a robot to have an emotional connection with her wasn’t the best idea she’d ever had and called it off.  Data asked her if she was sure she wanted to do that, and when she replied that she was certain, he said, “Then I will delete the appropriate program.” 

In some ways I kind of feel like Data – as oxymoronic as that sounds.  There were people in my life who, frankly, were cruel, and betrayed my trust in them in the most underhanded ways possible.  Now they can’t seem to understand that I walked away.  Not out of vengeance, or a grudge, or even anger.  I recognized that these were not the kind of people I wanted in my life and certainly not in the lives of my children.  I don’t hate them, I simply moved on, and deleted the appropriate program. 

I wish they would too.

 

Categories: Friends, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,943 other followers

