Heart Alarm

image I’m awake.  I don’t know why.  No dream woke me, and I haven’t been asleep very long.

I listen, in the dark.  Husband sleeping peacefully beside me.  No sounds from the kid’s room.

No sounds from outside, like unruly neighbors or squealing tires.  Our place is pretty quiet and we generally don’t have anything like that here.  Besides, the windows are closed.

Nothing is running like the refrigerator or the air conditioner. 

“CRACK.”  Well, there’s the sound from the living room.  Don’t know what that is, still haven’t figured it out after months of hearing it, every night, around 4 or 5 in the morning.  Sounds almost like an angry leprechaun smacking the TV with his little shelaleigh.  Just a single sharp crack. 

Silence.

I wait, in the dark.  Should I get up?  I’m not groggy, but I’ve only had about 45 minutes of sleep.  And I don’t feel like getting up. 

So I wait.

And then it comes.  The boy, the one who has little concept of the meaning of “quietly” during the day, can walk on cat-feet at night.  I don’t even know he’s there until I feel the bed dip under his weight.

Then his head is snuggled on my shoulder, under my chin, as I wrap my arms around him like I did when he was a baby.

“I had a bad dream,” he whispered. 

“It’s okay now,” I whisper back.

“I know why God made the insects tiny,” he told me. 

“Why?”

“Because they’re a lot scarier when they’re huge,” he explained softly, so as not to wake up his dad.

Pearls of wisdom.

“I bet you’re right.  That makes perfect sense to me.”

He snuggled in tighter and I kissed his head.  My bundle of boy went back to sleep, safe in his mama’s arms.

And I knew what had woken me up. 

 

Categories: Family Life, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Heart Alarm

  1. Isn’t that the BEST feeling EVER??? I love when my girls are all snugged up with me in bed. It’s about the only time when I feel completely content, secure and peaceful.
    I loved reading this today, Falc. Thanks for sharing. Time to go wake my littlest from her slumber. I’ll try to envision these gentle moments as throws a Webkinz at me and tells me she doesn’t want to go to school:) She’s not a morning person–takes after her mom. :D

    I love being the middle of a “momwich.” Best. Feeling. EVER. :D
    My youngest isn’t a morning person either, much like her mom too. *cough* ;)
    My son’s not a big snuggler anymore, so when those moments come, I grab them. My daughter is still my teddy bear though. :)

    Like

  2. whatigotsofar

    But with insects being so tiny, they can easily sneak into homes and such. Imagine if a bug was four feet tall. That bug would be too big to sneak into a home. I think sneaking into homes is one of the main reasons bugs are scary. They invade into homes. No other animals really do that. The occasional bird or rodent sets up in attics and such, but that’s it. Spiders have no fear. Just a couple of days ago, I sat and watched some TV when a spider hanging from the ceiling by it’s web, slid down and landed on my upper lip. Less than half an inch from my open mouth. EEEEEWWWWW!!!

    Well yeah, that’s a major EWWWW, and I’d be freaking out big time.
    But heck, people sneak into homes, even people bigger than 4′ tall. That’s one of the scariest creatures, IMO. Just sayin’.

    Like

  3. Oh this was the most precious thing I’ve read in a long time. I don’t have children, but that moment just tugs at my heart strings. Thank you so much for sharing this!!! A wonderful way to start the day.

    Oh, thank you Elizabeth, I’m glad you liked it. :)

    Like

  4. There is nothing better than when your child is sleeping in your arms!

    Nope, Bones, there sure isn’t. :)
    ~Ness

    Like

  5. kreestee

    Awww… I can’t wait for Squish to be able to come to us for comforting like that. While I’m not wishing away these baby years, it will be interesting to see what kind of kid she will be.

    There’s always more to look forward to. She’ll be an awesome kid, she’s already an awesome baby. :)

    Oh yeah… I think that whatever is making the mystery noise at 4AM is the same thing emitting the phantom smell. Just my $.02.

    LOL, well that’s an interesting theory! I suspect it’s the TV cooling down. But we’ve never been able to determine the smell, and even the manager couldn’t smell anything, so we don’t know what it was, and I think it was something from the parking lot wafting up to the neighbors place. Plus, neither our patio door, nor the neighbors is open at 4:30, when the sound happens, so whatever it was is still a mystery! At least, we’re pretty sure it’s not the bodies of our victims hidden in the closet … ;)

    Like

  6. Aw, how sweet! Your heart alarm beeped.

    My heart alarm beeped. :) An amazing feat for someone who sleeps like the dead. I was so glad I heard it!

    Like

  7. If every child had a Mom like you we would have no wars. What a heart! I just want to hug you every morning. I read this at 3 am when my baby Emily decide she had to go out and again just now. *applause*

    Awww, you are so sweet to me dear Sara. You always have such nice things to say. :) Thank you. *hugs*

    Like

  8. Pingback: Kudos « Sara Fryd

  9. Pingback: Kudos Vanessa « Sara Fryd

  10. Oh, this made me remember my boys as babies, just lovely. I guess it would be really odd if they did this now…they’re both over 6’….would probably wake up dad. Thank you!

    We have to grab those moments when we can, don’t we? They’re so fleeting! His days of crawling into bed with mom because of a nightmare are almost over, so in a weird way, I cherished this time. Not glad he had a bad dream, but you know what I mean. :)

    Thank you, Jaymie. :)

    Like

  11. I never thought about why the insects are tiny, but he is dead on.

    I know! Me either! As soon as he said it I thought, “Ohhhhhh!” LOL

    I heard a “crack” in my kitchen this morning while I was making coffee. I went outside with the dogs and returned to find coffee all over the counter. Apparently, my pot decided to break and leak coffee all over.

    Glad your “crack” was nothing like that.

    Oh no! Horrors! Coffee on the counter instead of in the cup is always a terrible thing! I’m so sorry. :(

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,943 other followers

