Thursday Thankfulness

image What am I thankful for this week?  Well, out of the blue it popped into my head to be thankful for Scotch tape.  I have no idea why, since I haven’t used the stuff in a while, but never-the-less, there it is. 

I remember when I was a kid, Scotch came out with “magic” tape, that became “invisible” when you used it.  It had that glorious matte finish you could write on in pen or pencil, too.  The stuff really was magical to me.  I don’t understand why, but Scotch tape is one of those things that I feel I need to ration.  Like, only use it if it’s absolutely necessary, that sort of thing.  I know, silly, huh?  Why I feel that way I have no idea.  It’s not like it’s an expensive item to buy if I run out.  And it’s not like it’s some kind of “status” thing – like, “only the cool kids use Scotch tape.”  Everyone has Scotch tape in a desk drawer somewhere, or a craft box or kitchen junk drawer.  It’s just one of those things that we have around the house, like tissue.  (Sorry, Kleenex.  Don’t want Mind of a Mom to bite my head off again!  ;)  LOL) 

So I love Scotch tape and I try to always have some handy.  And it has nothing to do with my love of office supplies.  But it does have everything to do with my love of that wonderful, magical stuff called tape.  :)

That’s what I’m thankful for this week.  Maybe I’ll go find something that needs to be taped up. 

What are you thankful for?

Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. whatigotsofar

    I’m thanking for duct tape.

    Duct tape is AWESOME, but it’s not very good on presents.

    Like

  2. steve

    I’m with whatigotsofar on the duct tape!

    Duct tape rules! :D

    Like

  3. “And it has nothing to do with my love of office supplies.”

    I share this love and so does my other half. Everything about stationery is magical, precious and (dare I say it?)sexy.

    Last week we lent a roll of Sellotape to a neighbour and she hasn’t given it back – I’m saving up to have her killed.

    Sexy, oh yes! Do you walk into stationery stores and just look around in awe at all the cool stuff too?

    How much more do you need to have your neighbor killed? No one steals the tape and gets away with it! ;)

    Like

  4. I’m the same way, reserving the tape. Maybe it’s because when we were little it was a little more expensive and our parents freaked out about it. Mine did. It has been an unchallenged assumption of mine that I must use the scotch tape sparingly, and I imagine my kids are getting the same message. I vow to end the cycle! lol

    You know, maybe that’s what it is – the parents freaking out about the cost. Nice to know I’m not the only one who has that thing about it too, LOL. :D Now I need to go find things to tape!

    Like

  5. I’m fond of rubber bands…yes, even thankful for them. They are the best for opening jars with tightly shut lids, snapping people unexpectedly from across the room, and hubby even used one in a pinch to fix our ice maker. Yep, put me down for rubber bands.

    Oooh, rubber bands! Which, for some odd reason, always seem to come out “bubber rands” when I say it out loud. I have a whole jar of those in various colors and sizes in my little office supply drawer too. :D

    Like

  6. When I was a kid we had to use masking tape or some such stuff. Then there was the Scotch tape. It must have cost a fortune because we had to ration it on packages and whatnot. Then when the generic brands came out it was like we were living in the land of plenty. We used tape on everything.

    I find I ration it now because I never remember to buy it. I’ll need to wrap something and I have about 2 inches left on the roll.

    You too! Wow, I had no idea it was expensive like that! I just remember it being one of those things that wasn’t for everyday use and had to be used sparingly.

    LOL I always buy like 4 rolls now, so I don’t run into that “last 2 inches” thing myself. That is NO fun at all! :)

    Like

  7. Kate

    Like a couple of others here, tape had to be used carefully because of the cost.
    We have a stationary supply shelf and while I wouldn’t describe it as “sexy” it does look (scrabbling around for right word here) smart. Makes me feel all businesslike.
    I like my stapler, and lots of pens, you can’t have too many of those, and they’ve got to be the right sort, LOL

    Pens! Oh my goodness! I used to have coffee cans (wrapped in decorative paper of course ;) ) filled with pens! Different colors, different styles, felt pens, ball point pens, gel pens, fountain pens, red, blue, green, black, purple … you name it and I probably had it at one time. I loved decorative pens. My favorite was one I had that had a liberty bell (an American iconic symbol) on the little clippy part. And the Mr. Peanut mechanical pencil! That was fun. :) I had a giant pen that a friend’s parents gave me as a gift from their trip to Europe – I was a collector I guess. It’s always been kind of an obsession. And now my secret’s out!

    No, you can never have too many pens. :D

    Like

    • These pens are absolutely brilliant:
      http://www.cultpens.com/acatalog/Pilot_Frixion_Erasable_Rollerball.html They make my writing look good too (not an easy task).

      “Sexy” was an odd word to choose but like you I was reaching for a word that didn’t exist – a word that summed up the frisson of excitement, that combines with solid satisfaction, when seeing good quality stationery. I like the elegance of a well designed pen, the playfulness of pots containing paper-clips etc. in different colours, the clean white virginity of an unused eraser… Yes, I need help.

      Oooh, those pens look awesome! And they ship worldwide! Thanks for that link! I know where I’ll be getting my next pens from! My husband too – he likes to draw sometimes and is always looking for that perfect drawing tool.

      Don’t think of it as needing help – think of it as needing to find satisfaction. ;)

      Like

  8. Kate

    Back again – changed my wordpress gravatar /blavatar thing yesterday and look what it’s done here – a little green man. :)

    That’s the little monster guy I use – you can set them in WordPress, for people who don’t have blogs or an avatar. (Dashboard – settings – discussion).

    Try updating it again, or go to http://en.gravatar.com/ to do it through the main site by registering your email with your gravatar. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Proudly powered by WordPress Theme: Adventure Journal by Contexture International.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,943 other followers

