Thursday Thankfulness

DVD-Disk-icon

I like movies.  Always have.  Always wished I could watch more.  Used to want to be a film critic.  Well, I guess I AM a film critic, I just don’t get paid for my opinion.  ;)  But there was always TV … until a few months ago.  Living on a tight budget requires sacrifices and cable was one. 

But we discovered movies at the library when we went to check out some books.  Movies?  At the library?  Who knew?  And free too!  Even I can’t argue with that deal! 

Admittedly our library doesn’t have the latest and greatest movies.  The most recent movies it has are probably 6-12 months old.  But this time has given me a chance to watch some old favorites again, and to catch some movies I never would have caught before.  Like the one we watched tonight called, “Perfume.”  Yeah, I can hear all the males rolling their eyes, thinking “chick flick!”  Well let me set you straight on that score.  I’m not really a “chick flick” movie watcher.  Yes, there are some period pieces I like, like Restoration.  I love costumes.  But I hate romantic comedies.  To prove my point, a few weeks ago when we were browsing the library shelves, my son pointed to a shelf and asked why we didn’t look at the movies on that one.  “Oh, those are comedies,” I explained.  KnytLite asked, “What’s a comedy?” 

Yeah, I bit my tongue on all the smart aleck answers that rolled around in my head.  It’s just that I’ve found that my idea of funny and Hollywood’s idea of funny are in 2 different universes and never the twain shall meet, as the saying goes.  So I stick with drama and action type movies, a touch of sci-fi – I am a Trekker and X-filer afterall.  Darc likes horror and then we get family type movies for the kids.  And we all sit and watch them together, as a family.  Most of the time. 

So today I am thankful for our DVD player that enables us to watch movies together as a family.  🙂

By the way, that movie Perfume was about a serial killer, and starred Alan Rickman and Dustin Hoffman, set in the 18th century.  You know how I am about serial killers.  How could I resist?  😉

What are you thankful for today?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. whatigotsofar

    I am not thankful for Dustin Hoffman. I hate that guy. Never liked him.

    Really? Huh. He’s okay – not my fave but not bad, IMO.

    But today I am thankful for:
    deodorant
    toilet paper
    answering machines

    Those are all awesome things to be thankful for! In fact, I think one of my first Thankfulness posts was on TP.

    Like

  2. Hey, I might grab Perfume. Never heard of that one, but it has a serial killer and period costumes, and I love both of those guys. Sounds cool.

    I think you would really enjoy it. It was better than I expected. Even Darc ended up enjoying it.

    Since we’re on a movie theme today, I’ll be thankful for Netflix. It’s not free, but it’s pretty close.

    I had Netflix several years ago, but signing up while living in an apt makes me nervous, even if I could afford it. It was fun though, back then. 🙂

    Like

  3. Bob

    Who knew? I knew! I have been going to my local library for 20 years and renting movies over the weekend. They know me by name in there.

    LOL Well, we’ve only been going to ours for a year or so now, and my last library card was around 97, and that one didn’t have movies.

    Like

  4. I can’t watch serial killer films because they’re too real. I like my scares impossible aliens–and not that scary. But the romantic comedies… I like old ones like The Philadelphia Story with Cary Grant and Jimmy Stewart. And I do love When Harry Met Sally. But most rom coms of the last 10-15 years have just been useless. Blah.

    I won’t do gore. Scary is one thing, gore is unnecessary, IMO. In this movie, the violence was implied, never shown.

    As for what I’m thankful for–I found out today that I’ll be able to see some old friends for a weekend in November. My best college friends. I’m VERY excited.

    Oh that will be tons of fun for you! 😀

    Thankful for readers like you too, by the way.

    Glad to be there. 🙂 It’s mutual hon.

    Like

  5. steve

    The Dexter series would be a good choice for you, if you haven’t seen the series yet. Start from season one and work your way through. Season four just came out on video (dvd via Netflix) the 17th of this month.

    You know, we caught part of the 1st season I think when CBS picked it up from Showtime. We’d heard so much about it, and liked the series, but then CBS stopped showing it for some reason. I liked what I did see though, and I’ve been keeping an eye out for it at the library. 🙂

    Like

    • There are also Dexter books if you can’t find the series on DVD.

      I’ve heard of the books. I may go that route if I can’t get hold of the DVDs one of these days.

      Like

  6. I’m thankful for my A/C. It is hot as blazes today.

    Oh my, yeah. A/C is always there in the top 10!

    Like

  7. I read the book “Perfume”. It was excellent. I never knew it had been made into a movie.

    It was a good movie. I’ve never read the book, but the movie was enjoyable. You might like it. 🙂

    Today I am grateful that my doctor did not feel the need to do any blood tests at this afternoon’s visit.

    Woo! That’s always something to be thankful for!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.