Wow

image So, this is what it looked like around 5ish on Tuesday.  It’s hard to see the gusts, but they were horizontal.  Darc made it home early and safely, thank the Lord.  They’re saying we’ll probably end up with around a foot and a half of snow here, and gusts right now are at least 50 mph.  It’s a bad ‘un. 

That flag in the picture is pretty much my beacon.  I can tell what the wind is like depending on how it’s waving.  There were times earlier in the day when the gusts were so fierce that I couldn’t see the flag.  I can usually see it at night because that building it’s in front of is the management office complex and they always have some kind of light on, as you can see the row they have lit there.  Tonight, I can barely see those lights and the flag is not visible at all. 

Yes, they should have it lit at night, with a special spotlight dedicated to it.  But they don’t.  *sigh* 

The power started flickering in the early evening hours so we shut down the computers and lit some candles, just in case.  The power did seem to stabilize after a while so I decided to turn on the old Flintstones computer, to see what was going on in the world.  I was using my phone to check the weather reports but after a while of looking at that tiny screen, my eyes start to feel old.  (Don’t say it!)

The Internet connection in here is pretty poor, I don’t even know if I’ll be able to get this posted. 

The drifts are already about a foot up on my patio door, and the blowing snow has stuck to the screens so we can’t see out on that side of any of our windows.  The poor crew keeps going out every couple of hours to plow the parking lot here and run the snow blower down the sidewalk.  I always want to take them a cup of coffee or something.  Whenever it snows, they’re out there at 4 and 5 am, plowing so people can get to work.  They have a really great team here.  That is one of the perks to apartment life. 

The drifts are so high, I tried to take a picture of my neighbor’s car but it came out too dark.  The drifts are up to the windows on their car, it’s a little SUV type of thing.  They’re up to the hood on our car. 

I might try to get another picture tomorrow and update this, just to see the difference.  We always have snow here and freezing temps in the winter.  For at least 5 months of the year.  Over 150 days of cold and snow and cold.  We just usually don’t get a months worth of snow all at once.  This is why I say all snow should be confined to snow-globes.  :)

Oh, happy Groundhog day!

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Current Events, Seasonal | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Wow

  1. Sounds like what we had here, only we don’t have snowblowers and things. Luckily, ours will melt somewhat on Thursday and everyone should be back to work and school. *fingers crossed they’re driving me crazy*

    I hope it’s gone by Thursday for you! Melt off would be awesome. We’re supposed to go to -5 tonight with a high of 10 tomorrow for those in the city. Colder for us up here. I don’t even see anything above the low 20s on the 10-day! Yikes!

    Have you taught your kids how to make snow angels? Or a snow fort? That ought to keep them occupied for a bit! :)

    Like

  2. AFVET

    C’mon, suck it up.
    This winter will just make you appreciate spring that much more !

    Ha! Nice try, AFVET! I can appreciate Spring without having to go through Winter first. :)
    Good to see you here! :)
    ~Ness

    Like

    • AFVET

      You are an interesting individual.
      I’m looking forward to more interactions.
      Nice to be here.

      What a nice thing to say! Thank you! :)
      I hope you like it here. :)

      Like

  3. That’s intense. The storm came through Toronto but it was kind of a non-event, at least in my part of town. I heard it was worse in the East end. We got a bunch of snow, but nothing crazy, and the winds weren’t too bad. Visibility was fine, and I got to work on time on the bus like always.

    Whew! Sounds like things kind of blew around you instead of over you. This one was huge, they said over 2,000 miles wide, so I didn’t know if it was going to hit you guys up there or not. Glad all is well!

    Like

  4. Shit… are you in Nova Scotia? lol That looks like the weather outside my window! I shoveled the walk today before Matt came home, then he did the driveway, but I noticed the towering piles of snow in the walk are getting quite high.

    The nice thing about snow though, if it’s snowing, it isn’t that cold.

    Ha! It feels like NS! Thing down here though is, last night it was snowing so hard, and the winds were so bad we had below 0 wind chills, and mean temps were in the teens. Chicago doesn’t do that “too cold to snow” thing very well. Maybe because of the lake? I don’t know. We do, however, do that “too cold for salt to work” excellently. ;)

    Like

  5. We’ve had tons of snow this year. I had wood delivered and it snowed before I could get it stacked on my deck. I’m wading through drifts and digging wood out of a snow bank. Let me tell you how unhappy that makes me.

    Snow wading sucks and so does trying to dig your warmth out of a snowbank. I hope it melts soon and that things warm up out there for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Proudly powered by WordPress Theme: Adventure Journal by Contexture International.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,944 other followers

