Thursday Thankfulness

Matter of horizons

Image by Rickydavid via Flickr

It’s often hard when you’re going through a difficult time, to remember your blessings.  Sometimes those blessings can seem so far away in light of the hard times that we forget them, because the darkness in our lives is so overpowering. 

Personally, I’ve been in a tunnel for the last few years.  I don’t understand the why of it, I don’t know why God allowed it to happen, but I know that He’s in charge and I trust Him, even if my heart has been broken into more pieces that you can imagine.  It’s easy to forget to be grateful during such times, especially when they seem never-ending, as it often seems for me. 

Despite the hardships though, God is still God in my life, and I am thankful for many things – especially the knowledge that God is still God in my life.  It’s a knowledge that can not rely on "feeling" because without question, I do not feel God in my life in any way, shape, or form.  Nonetheless, I know He’s there.  Faith or belief isn’t based on emotion or feeling.  There is no "tickle in the pit of my stomach," no "surge of emotion" to convince me that something is true.  It’s just something I know, like I know I am female.  I know God is present in a way that I can take for granted – but I don’t, I can’t.  But more on that when I get my “Religion” page up in a few weeks.  🙂

I am thankful for my husband and my marriage.  There are moments when I think I could use “I” and “we” interchangeably because we think so much alike.  We have weathered trials that would annihilate lesser marriages, but those same trials brought us even closer together and forged a bond even I can’t define.  Our jagged edges fit together perfectly into a new union forged of separate wholes. 

I am thankful for my children.  I have been so blessed with them!  No birth defects, no diseases, no trips to the emergency room (so far, thank God!).  They are happy and well-behaved.  They are healthy – I haven’t had to cope with autism or ADD or ADHD, or anything at all except for maybe 6 colds and 2 stomach flu incidents – between both of them, in their whole lives.  They are bright, curious, inquisitive, smart, and grounded in their own identities.  I am a lucky mom, and I am grateful!

I am thankful that I have a roof over my head and food on my table.  I have a bed to sleep in and clothes to wear.  I’m healthy – maybe 4 colds in the last decade?  I can’t remember but I hardly ever get sick.  I have a decent place to live with a few amenities that I so appreciate!  I live in a pretty decent area that’s not high crime.  Compared to many of you, I’m probably lacking a lot, but you should know that once you’ve been stripped of everything, little things that were once taken for granted become precious.  It’s along the lines of that saying, “I was angry that I had no shoes, until I met a man who had no feet.”  You also learn that you can live without a lot of things you thought you needed. 

I’m thankful I’m an American.  Of all the countries I could have been born in, I think I got the best of the lot.  We have our problems, no doubt, but I’ll take them over the troubles in other countries any day. 

I’m thankful for the friends I’ve met here along the way.  You know who you are.  :D  What you probably don’t know is that I pray for you, by name, pretty much every day.  I am humbled by your kindness, your thoughtfulness, your generosity.  You have been a balm for my spirit and I thank God for each and every one of you.               

 

image

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

©DarcsFalcon

Categories: Faith, Family Life, Friends, Hope, Joy, My Beloved, Thankfulness, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. I love the last picture. All I can add to this amazing statement is “amen” — it is so.

    Like

  2. sherri

    I thank you, Fal, for this beautiful reminder to be thankful for all the good in my life. My faith, my family, my health (Oh, God, yes!) are the biggies, but I’m also grateful for my new bike, my new-found writing time, and the signs the Universe gives me every day that I’m on the right path!

    Love to you!

    Like

  3. i’m beginning to see a pattern in your posts

    Like

  4. Love – I’m glad you liked it. 😀 Love you madly!

    ==========
    Sherri – You’re welcome hon! 🙂 The little things can often mean a lot, can’t they?

    ==========
    JR – Thank you. 🙂
    And you’re the 1st one to notice that! 😉

    Like

  5. sherri

    I never noticed a pattern…

    Like

  6. Sherri – They’re all using the days of the week in the titles this week. 🙂

    Like

  7. elizabeth

    ::hugs::Life is not fair sometimes. No matter station, we all find ourselves in the dark, and remembering our blessings is a good way to alleviate that smothering feeling. You DO have a lot of blessings::smiles::not the least of which is yourself!

    Like

  8. Elizabeth – I count you among my blessings. You are one of the dearest things to come into my life and I’m so grateful to know you. 🙂 *hugs*

    Like

  9. Nice post….

    America IS the best of the best (although, yes, we have our fuckin’ problems)

    Thank god the kids are okay… but ADHD is something I want in one of my kids. They tend to be more creative and spontaneous, and also make great drinking buddies (haha, just kidding) 🙂

    Like

  10. Frank – Thanks. 🙂 At least we can agree on the country, if not the city! 😉

    I dunno – my kids are great drinking buddies now! 😉 First thing in the morning my boy goes and cracks open a bottle.

    Of chocolate milk. 🙂

    Like

  11. Sherri

    hehe, you’re funny. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

