Daily Archives: August 31, 2008

Bits and Pieces

Remember when I had the cable guy out a few months ago?  It turned out back then that our modem had blown, presumably due to a storm a few days prior.  Everything worked fine for about a month, and then went all wonky again.  I figured it was Comcast because they implemented a new system and things always get wonky when companies implement new systems.  I figured I’d be patient and wait it out, it would get worked out soon enough, no need to be a nag.  So I waited.  And waited.  And waited.  After about a month with no improvement, I finally called Comcast again and explained our situation to them.  They did a remote check on our modem and told me I had a weak signal and they scheduled a maintenance call for me.  The guy came out a couple of weeks ago and checked out all our wiring and found a few problems, namely loose connections and a poor arrangement of wiring.  Long story short, he fixed everything, put new couplers on the wires, re-wired the strongest signal wire to our main cable and we were supposedly up and running.  I asked him if the modem was good, because I thought the problems might be also stemming from that as well.  He assured me the modem was fine and all should be great.  He was a really nice guy, wasn’t bothered by my kids at all, did his job and left.  It was close to dinner when he left so I didn’t really get much of a chance to play online right then, but when Darc came home that night and went to check his email, we found that we were still having problems. 

I finally called Comcast again this week (I waited because I was afraid the problem might be on us and not them!) and they did another remote check on my modem, only this time I had to hook up my son’s old laptop to the modem directly and guess what we discovered?  For some unknown reason, our service is being interrupted at regular intervals.  The way the tech guy on the phone phrased it to me was, “The packets are being interrupted mid-stream, so only about half the data is being transmitted, in bits and pieces.”  In plain-speak, our service sucks.  And baring any outside wiring problems, the tech guy is pretty sure it’s a … modem problem.  I’m a tad perturbed (I love that word!) because I asked the last support guy to make sure the modem was okay, short of out and out demanding a new one, and he was certain the problem was solely in the wiring.  I don’t think he really even checked the modem.  So another guy is coming on Tuesday – with a new modem – and to check out all the wiring outside as well, to figure out what the problem is and get us up and running again. 

To give you an idea of how bad it’s been, imagine trying to open a page, like Google, and getting a time-out message … 7 times in a row.  Yeahhh.  I had better dial-up service a decade ago.  So we’ve been cranky here at the Darc household, with our sucky internet service.  But hopefully that will change after Tuesday.  :)

I’d also like to take this opportunity to call your attention to a couple of friends of mine who have actually – after months of nagging on my part ;) – started their own blogs.  Woo!  Nagging works!  So please say hello and give a warm welcome to KnytStalker and MrWakeUpCall.  I’m so glad you 2 are finally part of the club!!  Yay!!

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you!  My son came into my room the other morning, and as we were having some cuddle time, along with the little princess, he told me he’d had a dream that I’d had another baby.  I know!  Can you believe that?!  I sure can’t!  What is it with me and babies in the dreams lately?  I just thought I’d share that with you because I think it’s so funny.  :)

For my Beloved.  :)  I think I’ve found the perfect pet for us!  :D 

cat
more animals

©DarcsFalcon

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Categories: Family Life, FYI, Hope | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,941 other followers

