Daily Archives: August 14, 2009

Ouch

image

So, let me tell you what happened, why I didn’t have a post ready to go up this morning.

I’d found this picture on another site that kind of made me laugh, but it was a shock-value type of thing.  I was going to post the picture and ask if maybe there was something wrong with me that made me think it was funny.  I started to prep my post in Windows LiveWriter and like a bolt out of the blue, it hit me hard that it was the kind of picture that others would probably be offended by.  Not probably, would be.  So I decided to ditch the post … but then I was totally blank for anything else.  I mean, it really rattled me to think that I might have done something like that, unwittingly offending people for no good reason.  So I just slowly backed away from the keyboard and went to bed.  And no, I’m not going to tell you what the picture was about or link to it.

Now, some might say, “It’s your blog, it’s free speech, you can’t be worried about offending people, and besides, controversy sparks conversation.”  While all that may be true, there’s other things at play here for me.  First of all, I really don’t blog to be controversial.  I went to the trouble to set up a separate Faith blog and a separate Political blog to keep those “controversial” topics away from this blog.  If folks want to read about those things, they can go there knowing what they’re going to get, rather than get hit with something on this blog they weren’t expecting.  Secondly, I blog to connect with people, not offend them.  I like you guys, and the last thing I want to do is piss somebody off or hurt them in some way. 

It wasn’t something silly like me saying, “Chicago sucks!”  It was the kind of thing that yeah, there probably IS something wrong with me that I reacted to what I saw with a snort of snickers before thinking how inappropriate that was.  Clearly, I need to work on my sensitivity. 

Categories: Thinking out loud | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,941 other followers

