Daily Archives: August 20, 2009

They say soda pop is good for that too

image

I’ve often equated my ability to sense people’s feelings with a satellite dish.  Almost like others send out vibes somehow and I’m able to detect them.  This has caused a lot of anxious moments in my life, because while I may have been able to pick up the signal, as it were, I was never able to figure out what the source was.  Eventually I realized that if I just sat back and let the feeling play out, the person involved would call me within a day or 2 and tell me what was going on.  No one ever knew I was sensing their emotions, until I could say, “Oh it was YOU!  I KNEW something was wrong somewhere!”

This is something I’ve always struggled with.  I learned that talking about such things was not a good idea, because people start saying things like, “You need to be committed.”  “You’re crazy.”  “You should be in a nut house.”  Keeping my mouth shut seemed the best course. 

Now, without going into too much detail, I came to a point in my life where I was compelled to consider my thinking on the Biblical description of the spiritual gifts.  I came to realize – and still believe – that such gifts are no longer in play for the church as a whole.  (For those who are interested in such things, we can email and I’ll explain my position, Biblically.  :)  )  So, for all intents and purposes, I “turned off my dish,” for lack of a better description. 

But, I missed something.  While I maintain that the spiritual gifts are no longer in play for the church, I have come to believe that some of them are in play for Christians individually, specifically to nurture and enhance our relationship with Christ.  So, the dish that I allowed to start rusting from disuse, has lately been getting that rust scraped off and some signals have started coming back in again.  But with a twist.  See, before I never knew who was going through something, only that someone was.  Now it seems I’m sensing the who as well.  A long-time friend has been on my mind the last few days, in a very strong way, and I knew I should get in touch with her but I had this to do and that to take care of … so I procrastinated. 

I spoke with her today.  She’s going in for surgery in a couple of days and asked me to pray for her.  Oh, I’ll be praying, you betcha.  I’ll be on my knees.  Without going into private detail, let me just say an oncologist suggested she get in ASAP to check things out.  So yeah, you could say I’m worried.  If you’re the praying kind, I’d appreciate them on her behalf.

God seems to have a way of thunking me on the head, and this is one of those times.  That stiff wire brush to scrape the rust can be a real bear sometimes.

 

Categories: Faith, Friends, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,941 other followers

