Thursday Thankfulness

Yes, I am aware that it’s Friday, thank you very much.  I’m all discombobulated this week for some reason and I didn’t do it yesterday, so in the spirit of my discombobulatedness, I’m doing it today, neener.  😛

This week I am thankful for that ever-useful product, Oxi-Clean.  image

Scoff if you must, but as a mom – therefore the laundress – in my family, I have come to rely on Oxi-Clean’s amazing usefulness.  Sure, in the beginning a decade ago, I saw the infomercials and had serious doubts.  I’d tried that DiDi7 crap – can you say FAIL?  But I went out on a limb and decided to try Oxi-Clean anyway.

Know what?  It did what it said it would do.

Now when I need to get a stain out, I just fill up the washer, add some laundry detergent, a scoop of Oxi-Clean, let it swirl a minute, then shut the washer off overnight.  In the morning, turn the washer back on and let it finish, and voilá!  Clean, stain-free laundry!  What could be better?  Grass, dirt, blood, mustard, ketchup, weird stuff I don’t have a clue where it came from, gone!  It’s like magic. 

Now it’s a staple in my cleaning arsenal.  It makes my life so much easier.  Gone are the days when I either had to relegate something to the rag bag, or wear it stained.  I almost never have to use bleach anymore either, and Oxi-Clean cleans my clothes without shredding them.

It cleans other stuff too.  I can use it to spot clean a stain on the carpet.  As a smoker, I have to clean the walls in the bathroom regularly and Oxi-Clean does an awesome job at that too.  (I know, Sara, I know!) 

I am often amazed at all the advances we’ve had in the last few years.  I mean really, I grew up without push button phones or microwaves.  Perhaps I am just easily amused.  But when something comes along that works like it claims to, doesn’t cost much, and saves me time, effort, and energy in the bargain – I’m so in, and so grateful.  It’s the little things.

~~~~~~~~~~

In other news, want to find out how observant you are?  Try this – Think Test.  I got 21 out of 25, and tried to take a screen shot, but the javascript on the FireShot rebooted the site so I couldn’t get the picture.  

Lastly, have an awesome, and lucky Friday the 13th!

Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. whatigotsofar

    I am not thankful today. You scared me. I haven’t had my coffee or tea this morning. I’m sitting at the desk, barely keeping my head above my shoulders and then I see “Thursday Thankfulness.”

    It’s only Thursday! This week won’t die! I could have sworn it was Friday!

    Then I began to read the blog. Phew!

    Say what you will about OxyClean, but I have a soft spot for Vince and his Slap Chop. You’re gonna love his nuts.

    Sorry about the scare! That wasn’t my intent, honest.

    Pshaw, I had a slap chop thingy before there was even a Vince. Ever hear of Ron? He’s the Godfather of infomercials.

    Vince doesn’t have any nuts for me to like, either. 😛 He creeps me out, and didn’t I read that he was arrested for assault? Only nutless cowards do that to women.

    Like

  2. “weird stuff I don’t have a clue where it came from”

    This is the nature of 72% of the stains in my house.

    What is UP with those stains? It’s like some other dimension oozes things into ours when we’re not looking.

    Like

  3. So the shouty guy is telling the truth about his product? That’s entirely unusual. Good to know. I don’t have kids so I don’t deal with stains much, but you never know when a tip like that will come in handy.

    Two of my favourite household tips: To keep brown sugar moist in the bag, put in a couple of slices of raw apple. To keep things dry, like to keep a bottle of vitamin pills from getting sticky, throw in a handful of dry, uncooked rice.

    The shouty guy is indeed telling the truth about his product. And, I must confess, he’s never let me down on any of his other stuff I’ve bought over the years.

    Those are awesome tips, thanks! Uncooked rice is great too – if you make a cloth bag, put dry uncooked rice into it, then seal it up, you can pop it in the microwave for a min or 2 and then use it as a hot pad to put on aches and pains.

    Like

  4. Too cute. Neener, neener.

    LOL Thanks dear. 🙂

    Like

  5. OxyClean really works? I’ve been avoiding it for years. Have a fun-filled weekend!

    Really works! I’m here to testify! 🙂

    Have a great weekend too, Jaymie. 😀

    Like

  6. Okay, I really hate to be the one to say this, but you realize the product is “OxiClean” and not “OxyClean”, right? It’s right there in the picture you used for your post. No, I’m NOT being a “Nazi”, I’m just sayin’. Almost eleven years using the product, you still can’t spell it?

    Here’s proof of my rightness, which, as usual, is indisputable. 😉

    Pwnd, on my own blog! I guess it’s payback for the whole Worcestershire thing.

    However, I beg to differ on that “as usual” crack. 😛

    Like

    • whatigotsofar

      Oh snap! You got learned!

      Oh snap indeed! I did, didn’t I? 😳

      Like

      • You hear a bell ringin’? ‘Cause someone just got schooled….

        Agreed – lame. 🙂

        So THAT’S what that ringing was! I wondered … 😉

        Like

    • OMW Dane the “Nazi Oxi” It almost rhymes. Sometimes I just can’t help it. So I will apologize in advance. Hey, stop picking on my buddy!

      ROFL! Now I know who to run to crying, “They’re being mean to me!” 😀

      *hugs* You’re a doll. 🙂

      Like

  7. Hey! Do you think OxiClean would help get ink from an exploded ink pen out of my dryer? That’s the conundrum I’m dealing with this week…

    Did you get paid for this endorsement? 😀

    Depends on how the stain is – if it’s in 1 spot, like it pooled, I’d bet you could make an OxI Clean paste and let it sit on there over night. If it’s spread all over the dryer, I’d make a paste but not as thick, wipe it all over the inside and again, let it sit overnight, then wipe it out the next day.

    Paid? Oh you’re a comedienne now! 😉

    Like

  8. steve

    Can I still wash everything together? I’m not too good at ‘separating’ my clothes. Gotta make that full load!
    You and your family have a great weekend.
    Oh, I got 20 correct.

    Yep, you can still wash everything together, just be sure to use only cold water, and get them out of the washer and into the dryer as soon as possible, to prevent wet bleed.

    20 correct? Awesome! It said the average was 7, so 20 is fantastic!

    Have a great weekend too Steve. 🙂

    Like

  9. Oh there you go making me miss Billy all yelling on my tele! I need to leave now and go buy some Oxi in Billy’s memory
    Happy Friday!

    I know, I miss him too, the only man ever to speak in ALL CAPS and make it cool.

    Awesome weekend hon! 🙂

    Like

  10. Oxy clean gets out blood? Hmmm…maybe I should stock up.

    It does! Takes a soak though, so I usually just let it set overnight in hot water. Oxiclean works best in hot water.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

