Friday Fragments

I’ve been saving this one for a while now.  Click here –>>Seraphic Secret: Jews and Carburetors to see some vintage cars.  It’s seriously classic art.  They knew how to make them in those days!  In many ways, I long for that.  Now-a-days it seems like all cars look the same and there’s no individuality or creativity anymore.  You already know how much I adore the muscle cars of the 60s, take a look at these beauties from the 30s.  I have a whole new appreciation for them, I confess.  :)  Here’s a taste of what to expect. 

image

 

**********

This pic just made me laugh, and reminded me of my blogger bud Bob, from What About Bob fame.  No idea why, because he’s not into the catnip scene on any level – that I know of!  😉 

 

image

 

**********

Oh my gosh!  My kids got THEM! again from the library, and are running around singing one of the lines from it.  Some homeless drunk guy in a hospital was being questioned, and he kept bursting into this little ditty, “Make me a Sergeant, charge the booze!”  I’m not even sure they know what booze is!  What will the neighbors think?

**********

Now for some funny!

Email Oops

A Minnesota couple decided to vacation to Florida during the winter.  They planned to stay at the very same hotel where they spent their honeymoon 20 years earlier.  Because of hectic schedules, it was difficult to coordinate their travel schedules.  So, the husband left Minnesota and flew to Florida on Thursday.  His wife would fly down the following day.

The husband checked into the hotel.  There was a computer in his room, so he decided to send an e-mail to his wife.  However, he accidentally left out one letter in her e-mail address, and without realizing his error, he sent the e-mail. 

Meanwhile…. somewhere in Houston, a widow had just returned home from her husband’s funeral.  He was a minister of many years who was called home to glory following a sudden heart attack.  The widow decided to check her e-mail, expecting messages from relatives and friends.  After reading the first message, she fainted. 

The widow’s son rushed into the room, found his mother on the floor, and saw the computer screen which read:

To: My Loving Wife
Subject: I’ve Arrived
Date: 16 May 2003

I know you’re surprised to hear from me.  They have computers here now and you are allowed to send e-mails to your loved ones.  I’ve just arrived and have been checked in.  I see that everything has been prepared for your arrival tomorrow.  Looking forward to seeing you then!  Hope your journey is not as uneventful as mine was.

P.S. Sure is hot down here!

**********

Have an awesome weekend.  It’s a long one, woo! 

Categories: Family Life, Funny, LOLz | Tags: , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Friday Fragments

  1. whatigotsofar

    You stepped in it this time Falcon. Bob had a serious catnip addiction back in the day. It was bad. He was practically homeless. He’d be gone for weeks at a time. Eventually, he’d stumble home reeking of cat. After he got busted for B&E (he’d break into pet stores and steal catnip cat toys) for the third time, his parents finally arranged an intervention. He went to a rehab clinic in Winnipeg and cleaned up. He’s been striaght for four years now. Bless him.

    Well, there you go. You learn something new about a person every day. Thank goodness he finally got some help! Bless him, indeed!

    Like

  2. You weren’t suppose to tell people about that.

    It’s okay hon, no one here is judging you. We’ve all had some kind of catnip issues of one sort or another over the years. No one is judging you. You are not alone. Now time for the group hug! 😀

    And I certainly won’t tell anyone.

    Like

  3. That cat picture has such a great face! Haha!

    Isn’t he funny? He looked a little cross-eyed to me, too. 🙂

    Like

  4. It seems cars and music are all the same anymore. I wish they would take American Idol off the air so we would stop getting hit with “talent” that sounds just like someone else.

    I know!! There’s such a sameness to everything now, it feels like individuality and creativity have been left by the wayside. It makes me sad.

    I’ve never watched American Idol, but I saw the commercial with Daughtry a few years ago, and then got his CD. 😀

    Like

  5. I hope you have an amazing long weekend!

    Thanks! You too hon! 😀

    Like

  6. This post has everything I like. Classic cars, crazy cats, and email from Hell! Funny! So funny! Thanks.

    Why thank you so much, Izaak! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

  7. steve

    Loved the cars. My first car was a ’59 chevy Belair 2 door sedan. Great car! You and your family have a great weekend!

    You should have been with us last night! The McDonald’s near us has vintage car night on Fridays, and man oh man, there are TONS of cars there! Everything from Model T’s to chopped new creations. Lots of those old 50’s Chevys, and lots of my 60’s Camaros. 😀

    You have a great weekend too! 😀

    Like

    • steve

      My brother bought a ’67 camero a couple years ago. It looks stock but it has a 600 horse power engine. It is beautiful. He paid $40,000 for it! Told his wife, it’s an investment! rriigghhhttt!

      I am SO jealous! That’s my dream car!

      An investment! ROFL! That’s a good one! 😀

      Like

  8. Love your site from cats to carZ.

    My brothers and I used to sit in the back seat as we were driven around and played games trying to identify all brands or all models within brands. You are so right about cars today.

    My father wanted me to learn stick shift so he bought me an old football-shaped Mercury (Ford just announced they will be dropping this brand). I think it was a 51 and in the limited color of the post-way time – army green. We called it the tank. Dad said – you can wrap this car around a tree, put a dime in the phone and call me, I’ll come get you and there will be no hard feelings. He was patient when I left a lot of stones from the driveway in the lawn as I had that thing lurching and stopping as I learned the secrets of the clutch! He then bought me the cutest 1953 Chrysler convertible and I loved it. But for graduation from high school, he bought me a used – are you ready – 1957 rag top FordT Bird – Whooo Hoooo!. As a mechanic said to me – it was a roller skate with an engine and you had to be careful! When Dad died, my Mom and my brothers sold it so the three of us sibs could have a car to share – hey do two men ever allow a woman to get near THEIR car? Hugh! And why would I want to drive a Corvair after Ralph Nader went after them? I went out and saved and got the first – are you ready – Ford Mustang! Whoop de doo! Weaker than brothers in force of frame; smarter in terms of investment! Thanks for letting me leave this blog post!

    What great memories you have!

    Those old Mercurys! I remember my father had one when I was little – I think his was from the 60s but not sure exactly what year. I do recall the rear window on the back dash could be lowered though, that was cool. 🙂

    Nope they sure don’t make them like they used to. If you wrapped that car around a tree, you could quite probably walk away, without having airbags. Old rag tops, and early edition Mustangs – what a great time to be driving!

    Thanks for stopping by, Sam. 🙂 Good to see you here.
    ~Ness

    Like

  9. PS My brothers did have those Pontiac muscle cars – I forget their name but F-aaaaaamous and one of them was stooooooooolen!

    Stolen? Oh my, how terrible! I hope the insurance came through!

    Famous muscle Pontiac? Hmmm … Firebird?

    Like

  10. I never liked muscle cars, but at the same time, cars today are boring. So… I guess I’m contradictory.

    Well, not everyone is a car fan. For some, a car is straight utility I think. And for some others, it can be a form of art. 🙂

    Contradictory is just fine – we all have our skews, I think! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

