Wednesday Whittles

It seems to be a week of slumps.  It’s hard to find things to blog about after that long weekend.  I pulled out WIGSF’s list of Wednesday things that he left on my blog a week or 2 ago, when I was complaining, and thinking Wednesday Woe, or Wretched Wednesday would be a really bad idea.  He had a lot of great ideas on that list.  Today he made me laugh because on his blog he made the observation that Aston Kutcher is really just a tall Tom Cruise.  Later in the evening that came back to mind, and I thought to myself how I never thought about celebrities much anymore, certainly not like I did when I was a teen.  And I had forgotten that not 5 minutes before, I’d made the observation to my husband that Richard Gere and Patrick Stewart could pass for brothers, if you shaved Gere. 

I grabbed half a dozen books from the library, so now I have a lot to read when the old connection goes out on me.  NoConnectI love that little Shelfari website!   I try to update it every time I come back from the library, but I can’t even begin to tell you how hard it is to remember all the stuff I’ve read over the years.  I don’t remember book titles!  Who are we kidding here!  I can’t even remember movie titles from movies I saw last week!  Total Swiss cheese memory when it comes to that stuff, but I can remember birthdays like nobody’s business. 

I also got a ton of movies to watch, some I’ve never seen before, and some that are tried and true.  They still didn’t have Clash of the Titans, the 80’s one, and I found out I’m 7th on the list.  *sigh*  7th?  That might be a long wait, considering they don’t even have a copy in stock. 

WIGSF, here’s a couple of pictures I thought you might enjoy.  Wombats, for your Wednesday viewing pleasure.  😀

image

image

Off to read and give Darc a shot at the box here.  Have a totally awesome Wednesday.  🙂

Oh, you like this cool grid thing I made?  🙂

 

 

 

Categories: Family Life, Just for Fun | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Wednesday Whittles

  1. whatigotsofar

    Look at that picture of the young lady holding the ewok or wombat or whatever the heck that’s supposed to be. That thing’s so much funnier looking than any of those stupid cats you always show.

    It’s only funnier because you don’t live in Micronesia or wherever it is wombats are common. If you saw wombats every day, you’d think the LOLCats were a lot more awesome than you do. Plus, you don’t like cats. You probably don’t have the same aversion to wombats.

    Here’s some more 80s movie choices to tide you over until you get your hands on Clash of the Titans.
    Watch Goonies. It’s about a half dozen kids searching for pirate booty. Your kids would probably love it too.
    Watch Krull. I’ve seen it. Still have no clue what the heck was going on in that movie. It’s totally messed up and makes no sense. But it’s still a hundred times better than the Neverending Story.
    Watch The Princess Bride. Action, adventure, kissing, this movie has it all!
    Watch Masters of the Universe. It’s a live action He-Man movie staring Dolph Lundgren as He-Man.

    Krull … man, I can’t even remember if I’ve seen that! It sounds familiar though.

    Oh now The Princess Bride – considered a classic. I know some people who can recite most of the lines from memory. Of course, I am not one of them. I can’t remember squat from most movies.

    Like

    • I want to watch Masters of the Universe again. I probably haven’t seen it since the early 90s.

      I’m sure I’ve never seen it at all! Well, pretty sure.

      Like

  2. steve

    I need to update my Shelfari account as well. I’m like you in that I can’t begin to remember all the books I’ve read, especially in the past few years. I was averaging about 40-50 a year but in reading so much I had lost track of all the ones I’ve read. Must be old age. 😉

    Makes you wish you’d kept a list, or had something like Shelfari back in the day, doesn’t it? LOL I hate that not only is my memory for these things poor to begin with, but now I can’t even remember if I’ve read a thing or not!

    Like

  3. hahaahaha Im totally loving Whombat Wednesday. I might need to steal that idea so I have a change up.

    Steal away hon! I’ve stolen enough from you! But you can blame WIGSF for the wombat idea – I just followed up with the pictures. 😀

    Like

  4. The second wombat looks happy, the first one looks like a nightmare.

    I just got a bill in the mail from the library. Seems I’ve had Dan Brown’s ‘The Lost Symbol’ for 30 days past the due date and they are assuming it’s lost. Since I hooked up the Roku player, all I do is watch TV. That’s a sad thing for an avid reader like myself.

    I wondered if the 1st one was ‘shopped, to make it smile like that. I put it up to spite WIGSF because I thought it looked kind of creepy. 😉

    30 days past due? You naughty girl! LOL I was late by a day at our library once and they charged me 10 cents a book. I don’t know what their extended policy is. At this point, they probably just make you buy the book. I hope you really liked it! 😀

    Like

    • The bill was for a replacement. If I return it in a couple of days it will be okay. The last time I had books forever I was drunk all summer. This is their way of checking to see if I’ve fallen off the wagon. Ahh…life in a small town.

      At least they care, right? 😉 And they’re being discreet about it. 🙂

      Like

  5. So how did you make that little grid thing? Do you have to repost it on every page?

    Well, I made the © thing myself, in Windows Live Writer. Then I went to the other 2 sites and got the banners I wanted. Then I made the graph in WLW, and added the buttons and things I wanted. I used the Text Template plug-in for WLW, which creates an HTML code for the whole thing.

    I had everything in there separately, including that thing I use for my signature, but I decided to put most of them together into a single little template so I wouldn’t have to add multiple things for each post. Now I only have to add 2 – that one, and my sig one. 😀 Made some for Darc too.

    If you use WLW, with the Text Template plug-in (EASY to get) for your posts, I can send you the HTML code, and you can input your own URL in it for your own use.

    Like

  6. I found the middle button on copyscape and I can add it to posts, but I wish it would auto add. I might put it in my sidebar or something. I need to get in the habit of adding the copyright notice at the bottom of my posts.

    The sharing one is from addthis.com, you can get it there – you have to do it a certain way to work around WP though, I think it’s that you can only choose 1 of the 1st 2 buttons and go from there. Darc might remember.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

