Thursday Thankfulness

imageWe had to go to the library the other day.  There just wasn’t a connection here, plus we had to take some movies back.  I figured I’d get a post prepped so I could upload it from the library.  There are time limits, so you have to work fast.  I knew I wouldn’t able to use my beloved Windows Live Writer from the library, so I copied my post into a Word document and then put it on my little flash drive, zip drive, thumb drive, whatever you want to call that little thing!  I knew the library had Word 07 on their computers so it shouldn’t be a problem, right?

Wrong.

I could open their Word, I could open my document, but I could not copy my document and paste it into the WordPress post box. 

So, I had to wait until we got some kind of connection at home later that night.  Seems to be not too bad late at night for some reason we have yet to figure out.  Most of the time.  There doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to when we have a connection.

But I did find a Live Writer portable app for my thumb drive, which Darc is going to set up for me.  I guess I’m not the geek I used to be.  At least I’ll be able to take Live Writer with me when I go to the library, and really, what more could a blogger want? 

And that’s my thankfulness for this week.  I used to think the 3.5 floppy disks were cool – still kind of do as that’s what our camera uses.  But those little thumb drive – wow!  You can get so much stuff on those little things!  A friend of mine even accidently ran hers through the washer and it didn’t skip a beat.  What an amazing time we live in!  To think – the Apollo missions used huge computers that had less computing power than our cell phones of today.  Now we can store gigabytes on a tiny piece of equipment the size of your thumb.  And you can find them in fun shapes, like these.  

image

Thumb drive, get it?  LOLOL  Okay, sorry, yes I am easily amused.  😀

image 

I think it’s pretty wonderful and I’m thankful I live in a time where such things are common place, and that I have one.  🙂

What are you thankful for this week?

Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. whatigotsofar

    My favourite portable computer storage devices have always been the 10″ and 5 1/4″ floppy disks. The thin black kinda bendy squares with the really sharp corners were awesome. I used to fling the 5 1/4″ disks around the house. They were like ninja stars. The 10″ disks, even I knew those things were too dangerous to play with. Frisbee sized ninja stars.

    When those USB flash drives were new, I bought a 16MB unit. It ran me 64 dollareedoos. That’s four dollars per megabyte. OUCH!

    I haven’t have the 5.25s in years, never saw the 10″ ones. Yeah, they do make awesome Frisbees. 😀

    WOW! $64 for a 16 mb flash? I think I paid like $3 for my little 32mb one that I got a couple of years ago. Found it in line at the check-out, next to the Chapstick and gum.

    Like

    • How fun is it to throw a flashdrive? It seems that is what you use your disks for.

      Nonono, never throw the flash drive! The old old floppies yeah, but not the flash!

      Like

  2. steve

    I don’t have one. I guess I could back up my computer on one, that would be cool enough I suppose. All the other stuff you were talking about lost me after “Windows Live Writer” … I have that some where on this little computer, but I have no idea how to use it or what to use it for.

    I’m thankful for Sandy. That little dog really likes me.

    They’re great for updating computers – like a work one and a home one. They function sort of as a briefcase for computer files, and some programs.

    Windows Live Writer is a blogging client that you can also use when you’re not online to prepare posts for blogging. It’s an awesome utility, the best one there is for blogging, and I won’t blog without it anymore. I can so help you with it if you have any questions and want to try it out. It’s really easy to use, too, pretty intuitive. 🙂

    Like

    • steve

      I just opened a blog site on blogger (Bionic Politics). I’m thinking of using it as a link to my WordPress site. I need alot of help!

      I’m your girl! Why don’t you drop me a line and let me know what you want to do with it. I can help you with that. Have you set up Google Reader too?

      Like

      • steve

        A-okay. Thanks.

        I’m totally serious. I love doing this kind of stuff. 🙂

        Like

  3. I put my thumb drive in the washer once and it was fine…but another time I didn’t catch it until it went through a dry cycle. That did it in.

    Do you have one of those original digital cameras? I have an old Kodak that worked perfectly till I left it on charge overnight. I guess I ruined the battery.

    You too? Kristy did that too, lol. I always check my pockets now on laundry day. 🙂

    Yeah, our camera is pretty old, still uses the 3.5 floppy. I had to get an external floppy drive when we got our computers a few years ago, so I would be able to upload pics to it.

    Like

  4. I am impressed your library had Windows 7!

    No, I don’t think they have Windows 7, they had Word 2007.

    I use my old floppy disks as coasters!

    I am thankful for all of my friends furry and non furry and for all of the good conversation on the blogs Steve and Roxie have brought my way.

    Oh and the toad I stepped on in error the other night (in my bare feet) – is OK. I am soooooooo relieved. I guess he is the big thank you this week.

    LOL, coasters is a good use for them. We also use CD’s that no longer work at coasters too. 🙂

    Glad Mr Toad is okay. 😀

    Like

  5. I love the sushi drives! So cute.

    We recently had a problem at work because one woman was using cheap thumb drives that apparently came with viruses pre-loaded on them from the factory. That’s been known to happen, although I’ve never experienced it before.

    Came with a virus?? Holy cow! I’ll have to be careful and check that out if I get any more of them, I had no idea they were doing that! Sheesh, is anybody suing them?

    Like

  6. I love them. They’re sexy, like stationery. They remind me of my Swiss Army Knife, which is also useful and awesome. 🙂

    LOL I guess they sort of are like Swiss Army Knives. 🙂 They remind me of Pez holders with all the designs they come in now. 🙂

    Like

  7. I had a MP3 player once that looked like a flash drive and I could use it as one as well. It was very cool, but it didn’t have a ton of storage. My new MP3 player has lots more storage, but I have to plug it in with a cord. Not nearly as cool.

    An MP3 that doubled as a flash? That’s pretty awesome! Too bad it didn’t have more storage.

    Like

  8. The girl has a cool flash it changes colour as it warms up from being used. Are you “borrowing” internet waves, is this why you have problems getting online?

    Ooooh, is that like a “mood” flash? Like the rings we used to get as kids? 😉 How cool is that?!

    Borrowing. Yeah, I like that term. 🙂 Yes, that’s why we have the connection problems we do right now. Hopefully things will change, and soon!

    Like

  9. blackwatertown

    Thumbs up.
    Yes they’re very handy.

    Thanks BWT. 🙂

    And thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

