Thursday Thankfulness

Well now.  I’m really struggling with something to be thankful for this week.  In The Hiding Place,  Betsie and Corrie were grateful for the lice in the barracks of Ravensbrük because it kept the guards away so they could have prayer meetings without fear.  I have yet to meet a louse – well maybe one or two of the human kind 😉 – but I’ve never met the bug and if I did, I don’t think I’d have it in me to be grateful like they were.  Can you imagine being thankful for lice in a concentration camp?  Me either.  Yet I want what they had, that spiritual strength that can sustain through any trial. 

Perhaps that’s what I’m thankful for this week – that I grabbed that movie off the shelf at my library and watched not just the movie, but the documentaries that were also on the disk.  They really touched my heart in a way that I need right now. 

image Have you seen the movie?  It came out in the mid 70s, and I saw it in the theater when I was a little girl, and I also read the book as a young woman.  Re-visiting it has been a good thing for me, a good reminder about how God can work with things that seem useless to us.  Corrie ten Boom was an amazing woman, and as she liked to say, “God has no problems with our lives, only plans.” 

Wise words.  🙂

Is there someone who has touched your life like that?  Encouraged you, uplifted you when you most needed it?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

[tweetmeme source=”DarcsFalcon” only_single=”false”]
Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. In general, it is the next phone call that brings something my way I had not planned. What gets me through is knowing that I DON’T know the future (most of it) and that the godhead is in control of that. So I have determined to have a positive outlook on the future as much as I can and leave the rest up to God.

    The individual who most changed my life? 2 – my Dad and how he handled his illness, his faith and his lack of fear in the face of death. And my Mother who made life with a sick father possible.

    A sense of humor saved us all. And it was wicked at times just because you have to laugh at death and dying and pain and suffering to tolerate it – at least in my family.

    Heard any good death jokes lately?

    Actually, recently I made plans for my funeral. I was in my garden wear and ducked into the favorite funeral place and announced “I need to make a drive-by funeral arrangement – I just need 10 minutes.” I will be cremated. I told them I wanted burial at sea in the large fish tank in the entry way! That’s the other thing about the oil spill. Can’t really see throwing ashes in the Gulf right now. With my luck, a turtle would swim through my remains and the person who cleaned him would say “anyone know of a volcano in the area” as she cleaned off the ash.

    Believe me Sam, we have been praying for that “next phone call.” 🙂

    Your dad – you’ve mentioned him before and I am always impressed anew at his strength, and your family’s. Living with what he lived with makes my troubles pale in comparison. In many ways, you were blessed to have such an awesome example right there in front of you.

    Like

  2. If you see ‘Everything is Illuminated’ at the library, you should grab it. I haven’t read the book, but the movie was excellent. I’m thankful I didn’t live during that time.

    I don’t think I’ve heard of that – either the book or the movie. I’ll keep my eyes open. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

    Like

  3. I read “Touching The Void” (there is a movie too now) and that was amazing.

    I’ll have to keep my eyes open for it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

