Monday Moppets

imageWell.  I learned on Friday that the city has installed new storm warning sirens right next to the complex here.  G’head, ask me how I learned this.  *eyeroll*  Oh yeah, we had stormage over the weekend.  Lots of flooding in the area, apparently.  We, personally, aren’t affected by any of the flooding, but I guess we got dumped on pretty good.  I think I read something like 7” of rain that night. 

Anyway, with the new system so close, I couldn’t help but think of the War of the Worlds sirens.  I went outside to investigate, because I’d missed the announcements and was wondering if they’d play over again.  With all the A/C units running, the loudspeaker sounded more like something at a drive-through restaurant.  But that siren!  Doggone!  I think I’m still kind of deaf from it.

My son doesn’t do storms very well.  We went through this a couple of years ago too.  Stormy Weather.  He gets all freaked out and this time was no different.  He hangs on to the notion that if he hears the alarms, it means kiss your butt goodbye, you’re going to DIE.  I keep telling him it’s just a warning, but it hasn’t sunk in yet.  Darc and I have both tried to talk to him, reason with him, and what follows was the closest we came to getting through to him.

Dad: “Your best bet of getting through any situation is to not freak out – stay calm so you can think clearly.” 
Son: “I think that’s clearly impossible.”

I couldn’t help it.  I started cracking up.  My son is witty!  LOL  Which frustrates the crap out of me sometimes.  My effort went like this:

Mom: “You can’t let fear rule your life like that.”
Son: “Everybody’s afraid of something … and I’ve chosen MINE!” 

*sigh* 

Watch, he’ll grow up to be one of those storm chasers and deny he was ever afraid of them. 

 

***

The MiniNess is glad to be 5 now, but claims it doesn’t feel any different than 4.  She loved her cake – she chose a white one so I could add food coloring to the mix and make it green, her current favorite color.  With pink frosting.  :)  She had fun helping me make it, and it’s so nice to have a little helper in the kitchen. 

Oh, and during the storms, she thought it was a riot to sit in the dry bathtub with her shoes on.  My kids are so different from one another! 

***

And how was your weekend?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

[tweetmeme source=”DarcsFalcon” only_single=”false”]
Categories: Family Life | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Monday Moppets

  1. whatigotsofar

    I thought the title read as “Monday Muppets” and was expecting a post about Muppets. Now I’m sad.

    I’m sorry you’re sad. The Muppets would not like you to be sad either. Just think of the rainbow connection!

    Like

  2. I read Muppets as well. We read what we want I guess. It’s not easy being green.

    Loved the dialogue! Kids give us more teachable and funny moments than adults. I love being with their openness and honesty before peer pressure puts a lid on it.

    I’m putting a lid on my comments today. Less is more but I’d like to leave you with the long version of “put down the ducky” that has all kinds of musical and dramatic stars in it. Enjoy.

    Our kids make us laugh more than anything. 😀 They are truly the joys of our life.

    I wish I could watch the video! Our little Flintstones laptop is super slow, and with our tenuous connection right now, we can’t generate enough bandwidth to watch anything. 😦 But thank you for sharing, because the thought was sweet and means a lot to me. 🙂

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday to Mini Ness! I knew she would be brave, because I remember that she likes to watch horror movies.

    Storm sirens are basically panic generators.

    Thanks hon. 🙂 She is glad to be 5, and now planning her cake for when she turns 6. LOL

    You’re right, she is the little horror movie fan and our son is not. Big tip-off! Those sirens are awful! I know, academically, that they have to be, but still, they’re irritating in the extreme.

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday to your little princess! Tell your son the cake sounds more frightening than the storm.

    Thanks hon! LOL Actually, the green was very pale and barely noticeable. Think of it like a flower and then it’s not so bad. 😉

    Like

  5. kreestee

    Wish the eyeas (baby falcon) a happy birthday from the Columbus Collective! In her world, the best birthday present was probably getting to sit in the tub with her shoes on. I can’t believe she’s FIVE already! Holy moly! It seems like just yesterday you were celebrating not having to change another diaper. I’ve learned that time flies as far as kids are concerned.

    I know! Diapers, wow, so glad to have said goodbye to those!
    Thanks for the birthday wishes – I wish I could remember that eyeas! I keep forgetting.

    Ben freaks out about tornado warnings too because he feels that if the sirens are going off then death & devastation are in the immediate future. We straddle two counties so guess what? You guessed it – double the tornado siren fun. Even if the funnel has been spotted 30 miles away in the farthest reach of the county our sirens will go off as well. They test them every Wednesday at noon, too. It’s a great way to set your watch.

    Sounds just like KnytLite! The panic makes me feel so bad for him, because he refuses to be comforted. Ours are tested 1st Tues of every month, 10 AM on the dot. I would go insane if it was once a week! It has been the same for every town I’ve lived in around here.

    It could be worse… you could live right next to a fire station and hear those sirens allllllll the time at any hour of the day or night. At least you won’t hear them in the winter! 🙂

    We only hear the tests in Winter, but yes, a fire station would be bad.

    Oh yeah – how’s your hand from where you got stung??

    Like

  6. My son was and still is freaked by storms. It doesn’t get any better. One perk is I always know what the weather is going to be because he won’t stay off weather.com. Freak.

    Does he manage his freaking out? I mean, does he still inflict it on you? I am hoping my son can at least grow out of that aspect of it. *sigh*

    Like

    • Yes, he still inflicts it on me, but at least he’s stopped hiding in closets.

      Well, we all take progress where we find it, right? 🙂

      Like

  7. Onyx

    Hehe, that’s cute! Your son sounds witty and quick! I’m glad MiniNess enjoyed her birthday (:

    He’s a chip off the old block, and is definitely his daddy’s boy. 🙂

    She did, thank you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

