Weary Wednesday

image_thumbI’m here, I’m here, don’t mark me absent!  I was so tired last night that I decided to do my post today in “real time” rather than get a post prepped early.  I didn’t even get to my Reader until the wee hours.  We did some running around yesterday and got a lot of things done.  So I’m pleased about that.  And my kids will have shoes and clothing and coats through the Winter.  :)  Disobedient kids – I tell them not to grow anymore but do they ever listen?  😉

I was reading over on Mapelba’s blog about her recent experiences with a guy at a cafe she likes to frequent, who sounds like he might be one of those creepy stalker types.  It’s made me think of times from my past where someone didn’t seem capable of taking a hint.  I wrote about a couple of light-hearted ones a few years ago in a post called I Hate Gorilla Masks! if you were interested in reading about my own experiences.  Marta’s story drives home to me that we can never take our safety for granted.  You just never know where or when someone will get some maggot into their head that they have rights with you that don’t exist anywhere but in their own deluded mind.  Marta seems to have to situation under control and hopefully the guy has gotten the hint now, but check out her last couple of blog entries and see if he doesn’t make your “creep-dar” go off too. 

So glad to see that What About Bob? is back up and running again.  Speaking of maggots in the brain, for some reason, WordPress shut him down yesterday for a TOS violation – when there never was a TOS violation.  How stupid is that?  And they never notified him either.  What I’d like to know is what caused WP to do that?  I sure hope WP isn’t going the Blogger route and just automatically shutting down blogs if they get that “report as spam” button clicked, instead of doing at least a modicum of investigation first.  That just puts too much power in the hands of jerks and others who use to it try to shut down a blogger’s free speech. 

Anyway, I’m off to try to think of gratitude.  :)  Have a great evening!

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Family Life, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Weary Wednesday

  1. You’re late, missy! Wondered where you were. You still haven’t missed a day, so you’re good.

    Whew! I think I made it by the skin of my teeth! LOL

    Like

  2. steve

    Missed you today!

    I missed you too. 🙂

    Like

  3. Once someone gets that maggot in his head, you never know how he’ll see events. I’m sorry you’ve had to go through such an experience. Really, I’m sorry for all the women who have to go through such experiences–which is probably every woman.

    Never take safety for granted! So true.

    Every woman, yeah, for sure. I suspect it’s one of those things we try not to think about until we’re forced to. We don’t like to face how vulnerable we really are. The sister of a girl I knew in HS was a murder victim back in the 80s. It’s the kind of reality that’s always there, always lurking, always reminding you how fearful you are of every woman you know, every sister, every daughter, every friend. Of course, you can’t live your life in fear, but it doesn’t take much to remind you that even though you stand in the sunlight, the shadows are still there somewhere.

    Like

    • In 8th grade a classmate of mine was murdered. And that same year my best friend’s aunt was murdered by her husband. And also that very same year and man tried to break into our house–through my bedroom window while I was in bed. I certainly know about those shadows. But I suppose I got overly comfortable at my favorite cafe and didn’t see this one creeping up on me.

      Well, hopefully it is all under control now.

      Goodness! What horrible events to have to cope with at such a tender age! I’m sorry you went through those things. Children shouldn’t have to deal with such things.

      And you know, grown-ups really should either.

      Like

  4. I’m not stalker material and for that I’m thankful.

    Someone else I know was shut down for using photos that WP said were copyrighted. They didn’t notify him for several days, just let his blog be suspended. Jerks.

    Honey, if you have a [insert your favorite name for female genitalia here] then you’re stalker material.

    Well now that sucks that ‘WP is getting worrisome. I don’t like that at all. Especially the no notification part.

    Like

  5. whatigotsofar

    I AM stalker material. In fact, if you look out your window right now, in that tree on the left. If you look carefully, you’ll see a guy in a gorilla mask with a pair of binoculars. That’s me!

    Now tell the hubby to stop walking around the home in just his tighty whities. Nobody should ever see that. Yikes!

    I left some bananas out for you, Mr Gorilla-man.

    Heh, I should take a picture of the tree to the left!

    Like

    • Maybe I should clarify…I’m not a stalkee, I’m a stalker. Predators recognize one another and avoid each other, so no one tries to stalk me. That and I’m mean.

      I somehow doubt you’re a stalker. I think you’d find it a waste of time. 🙂

      Like

  6. Bob

    Thanks for the words of encouragement!

    My pleasure! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

