Wednesday Walk

imageI just love this picture.  🙂

We went on a little leaf walk yesterday, and managed to grab a few leaves from the trees in our complex here.  Fortunately the trees around here still have some leaves on them.  Our walk was postponed a few weeks because of my knee.  We found some trees that were in the middle of changing, and some that had changed all the way.  Hopefully, the craft idea I have will turn out nicely with all those colors.  🙂

I’ve been trying to think of what I’m going to replace the Tootsies and Thankfulness posts with when I retire them at the end of the year.  I’ve gone a  year+ with each and it’s time to move to something else, don’t you think?  My problem is, I don’t know what to move on to.  Is there some subject I could talk about that might interest you?  Something I could broach once a week?  If you have any ideas, please let me know! 

My library has this great feature.  I can place holds on books online at home, and then the busy bees there will collect them for me and set them aside for me to pick up at a later date.  Your library probably has a similar service, but I have to say, I have really come to love it.  It’s SO much easier browsing books online than trying to stand there reading book spines with my head at a 90° angle.  DVDs and video games too!  I put a hold on some 3 Stooges stuff for my kids.  Yes, I know I don’t like the 3 Stooges, but my kids seem to really like slapstick, and honestly, I’ve never met a little boy who didn’t like them.  I recognize that just because they’re not to my taste, it doesn’t mean they aren’t still comic geniuses.  Plus, they’re classic.  I’ll let you know my kids verdicts when the videos come in.  I know you’re just dying to know.  😉

Oh, by the way, be sure to wish your local Navy personnel a Happy Birthday today!  The Navy turns 235.  Happy Birthday Navy, and thank you from the bottom of my heart for your dedication to serving and protecting us.  *salute*

image

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Check out my husband’s latest book, available for download!
A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon US (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon UK (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Smashwords (non-Kindle versions)

Categories: Family Life | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Walk

  1. I have been reserving books at my library for 10 years now. Can’t do the same with movies but I love doing it with books. It is tough when they all come in at the same time!

    See? I’m late to the game. I just had a whole bunch come in yesterday. Woo for reading! 😀

    Like

  2. Our leaves are still mostly green, with some brown. The really beautiful, vivid colors haven’t appeared yet.

    When does Autumn usually strike for you down there? We usually get it in early-mid September but this year it’s been absolutely gorgeous and has lasted over a month. Usually I blink and it’s gone. I’ll try to send some Autumn glory down your way, so you can enjoy it too. 😉

    Like

  3. Onyx

    I love the library, it’s so handy, in so many ways.

    Our leaves are a mixture. Some have completely fallen, but most are all turned, with a few still green.

    Your Autumn probably starts even earlier than ours does. I’ve in some northern places it can start in late July even.

    Like

  4. “All the leaves are brown
    and the sky is gray.
    I went for a walk,
    On a ……..”

    Glad you finally got the leaf project in for the mini and maxi ness.

    I really love to read older books on line. I’m an old jerk but I love them best. When I leave the 18th century, I’ll send up a flare. Meanwhile, happy birthday, Navy and to all who go down to the sea in ships.

    1630893_f96.jpe

    See picture of statue at Gloucester, MA.

    I love gutenberg.org. All those wonderful old books, right there at the fingertips – what a wonderful time we live in!

    The Navy turned 235. I hope I look that good when I’m that age! 😉

    Like

  5. “Oh hear us when we cry to thee
    For those in peril on the sea [of life]”

    This is my favorite, favorite hymn. My mother asked that his be played at her funeral. It was. And when the yachtsman of a funeral director whipped her coffin around in the church aisle for the recessional, I turned to my brother’s waist (I’m short) and said “ready to come about, hard to lee.”

    I am very bad but God loves me in spite of it. I’m why we are here on earth with bushels of apples. I have always known that “the garden” was located in western NY in an orchard along Lake Ontario. I also came up with that great line “inasmuch as you’ve done it to the least of us..[actually it was ‘shortest of us’]” I did bad, bad thing.

    Yes, God loves you no matter what. 🙂 I dunno about that garden being in NY though. Have you seen some of the orchards in CA? I mean to tell! 😉

    Like

  6. Hope this comes up:



    The link works. I can’t testify as to whether or not it plays since I can’t watch videos on this computer, but I can say for sure that the link takes me to a video. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

