Monday Marriage

imageAnd so we begin the next chapter of our life together, Darc and I.  As WIGSF put it, we have made it through “another year of holding back the urge to smother someone in their sleep.”  :D  No idea what the future holds, but I do know that whatever it is, Darc and I will surely be able to face it together.  We’ve gone through some things that probably should have destroyed our marriage, but we found those things seemed to refine us, reshape us, and unite us in ways we’d not thought possible before.  Fire and pressure change the nature of things – like coal into diamonds or purifying gold and silver – not the least of which is our marriage and ourselves.  So here’s to the next step of the journey.  🙂

Darc has been a busy bee, trying to finish up this latest “slurp,” as it has come to be called.  Nothing like a deadline to motivate someone.  I do what little I can to help, as a research assistant, but the work is all on his shoulders. 

And this is our last week together all day every day.  At least for awhile.  The new job starts next week and while that’s a good thing, we are going to miss each other.  You get kind of used to a person, hanging out 24/7. 

So how was your weekend?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

 

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Family Life, My Beloved, Personal | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Monday Marriage

  1. Happy anniversary, you guys! “Fire and pressure change the nature of things – like coal into diamonds or purifying gold and silver – not the least of which is our marriage and ourselves.” That’s nice.

    Thanks dolly. 🙂

    My weekend was spent trying to keep up with the children’s slovenliness. My gosh, those kids can be messy sometimes! As I look around I see I lost the battle, but all in all I had a pretty good weekend. Even the worst game in Dallas Cowboys history was so ludicrous as to be funny. I wrote, so that’s always good.

    Glad you had a good weekend.

    Isn’t it amazing how much household disaster kids can generate? They really are like mini-tornadoes that blow through.
    Writing is a good escape, I think. Keeps the focus away from stuff. 😉
    Glad you had a good weekend too. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sure, you’re gonna miss Darc… Yeah right missy!

    You can’t wait for that first morning when Darc goes off to work and the home is yours again.

    Nah, we’ve been here before, and when he had to leave, I missed him. 🙂

    My weekend was pretty good all things considered. Friday night I wasn’t feeling well so I made plans to go to bed early. Turns out, that nighttime drowsy cold medicine doesn’t knock me out at all. I never had more than two straight hours of uninterrupted sleep.

    You know, Nyquil hits a lot of people that way. 25% alcohol can have the opposite intended effect. Next time try something with an anti-histamine in it, like Benadryl. That should knock you out.

    Saturday I went to the Royal Winter Agricultural Fair even though I was sicker than the day before. I saw the cows and llamas and horses and goats and sheep and chickens and ducks and stuff. The PEI potato growers association booth was giving out free potatoes. Russets I believe. I did get a fresh cinnamon bun. It was ooey-gooey great.
    I didn’t stay very long as I was sick and so was the friend I took down there.
    In the evening, I went out again. Yes, I’m a glutton for punishment. I went to my friend’s house and we watched a DVD. The Emperor’s New Groove. Funny movie. Good movie. On the way home, I hit the pharmacy and bought some more cold medicine. Not like it’s working.

    Oh I liked that movie! 🙂

    Sunday, I went to work for a bit in the morning. I didn’t last three hours. Too sick. Went home and went to bed.
    My brother called. He offered to take me out to an all-day breakfast place for pancakes. My mother answered the phone and said “He’s too sick to go out.” She was right. I don’t normally turn down pancakes as they’re like fried plates of heavenly goodness, but had I answered the phone, I would have turned down the offer personally.
    I guess the weekend did suck. Being sick sucks. If I wasn’t sick, I would have spent more time at the fair. I would have had more fun with my friend. I would have gone out for pancakes. I would have been more productive at work.

    *gasp* Now that’s some sick! I’ve never known you to turn down pancakes! I’m sorry you’re feeling so poorly and I’ll say a prayer that you get well soon. Pancakes await!

    Like

  3. “The proof of gold is fire” this was written on a fire screen for a bedroom fireplace in a home my parents once owned. It had been hand crafted by Yellin – a famous forge in PA. I must look up the source – Shakespeare?

    Well now, I can live with that! 🙂

    There’s just too much love swirling around your heads and blogs to let anything happen to the family I have come to know.

    Aw, thank you Sam. You’re so sweet. 🙂 We’re hopeful that the bad stuff is over now.

    And WIGSF – hey, weekend was not a total loss. Friend can tolerate a WIGSF running on 1/2 cylinders, the Royal Ag Fair (love it) chickens will be there next year (I take it you didn’t get to them, bawk) and your mother didn’t say “you brother can’t go but I can – let’s do it.” I know you love her but when you’re sick?

    Like

  4. PS – what did I do? I hid from family, friends and the weather all of whom were chilly this week. It happens. That’s why there are warm, loving dogs. They are the only source of unconditional love poor things. Oh, I did go out to a church pork roast with a friend. That war gud. Got home and Zenyatta lost the Breeders’ Cup Classic – but only by inches AND because of the jockey. A lot of us women get let down my our men.

    Yeah, those chilly friends, wooee. I’ve got relatives that make Chicago winters seem balmy.
    At least you had the good pork roast with a warm friend, right? 🙂

    Like

  5. That is so sweet! I love to hear about happy marriages. I’m lucky to have one like that; it gets stronger through adversity.

    That’s how you know it’s a keeper, when the fluffy “we’re so in love” stuff rolls off and the meaty “we can tough this out” stance kicks in. 🙂

    Like

  6. DF,

    Best of luck to you guys as you start the next chapter together! It’s all gonna work out!

    Sincerely,

    MR

    Thanks MR, I believe that. Dawn comes after the night, even the dark night of the soul. 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: World Spinner

  8. Onyx

    Congrats to you both 🙂 Happy anniversary!

    Thanks sweetie! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

