Thursday Thankfulness

In a totally selfish vein, today I am thankful for being able to get my kids Christmas presents.

This may not sound like that big a deal to you, but for me, it is.  You see, this is the 1st time in 4 years that we’ve been able to get our kids a decent Christmas.  The last few years have been rough ones for us, and we don’t talk much about that because we don’t want to come across as whiners or complainers.  That was our lot and we tried to cowboy up and do the best we could with what we had, even with silly sock-ants.    

image

And by the Grace of God and the skin of our teeth, this year might have been yet another one where my kids didn’t have much, if anything, under the tree.  I know Christmas isn’t all about the gifts.  Boy howdy, I know that, as do my kids.  At the same time, when you’re 8, or 4, or 6 – a Christmas tree without presents is indeed a hard thing to handle.  It’s also a hard thing for parents to handle too, knowing their kids aren’t going to get the toys and things they want.

So, this year, I am thankful that I’m able to get my kids presents.  Yes, there are lots of kids out there who won’t have much under the tree this year – for all you know, they might be your neighbors and just too proud to reveal their circumstances.  Thank goodness there are things like churches, charities, and Toys for Tots. 

I am also, most especially, thankful for the true gift of Christmas.  For unto us is born this day, a Savior, which is Christ the Lord.  The real reason for the season, no matter what you want to call it.  🙂

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. I love thinking about your family on Christmas morning. Sending prayers of thanks and for continued blessings on your family. 🙂

    Aww, thank you so much Jaymie! I hope you have a wonderful and blessed Christmas too. 🙂 *hugs*

    Like

  2. As you know very well, when you go without something that everybody else takes for granted, it gives you a special appreciation for it.

    Many Americans have forgotten the true meaning of Xmas, thinking it only has to do with the material things.

    You guys may think that you haven’t been able to give your kids a “decent” Xmas the last few years, but the closeness a family develops during hard times will last forever & is something many families would trade all their presents for.

    Down the road, I know your kids will look back on those “lean” Xmas holidays & remember them as the best ones!

    Merry Christmas DF!

    MR

    Thank you, MR. 🙂 I hope they will be able to look back one day and understand, and appreciate, why things have been as they have been; and that they develop the knowledge that Christmas, like Thanksgiving, is a state of being and not just a day.

    I hope you have an amazing Christmas too! *hug*

    Like

  3. I remember one year my mom cried because all she could afford to give us for Christmas was off-brand crayons and a couple of coloring books. My brother and I were still in grade school, and while we knew it wasn’t much, we were happy to have it. I know your kids appreciate all you do for them, and they probably take the lean times in stride, especially since they don’t have much to compare it to. And like Mountain said above, they’ll remember it as a time you came together.

    But ain’t it nice when it’s over. 🙂

    I’m thankful for our unexpected prosperity in this season, though ours was more gradual. I just looked around one day and wondered, “How come we’re not totally broke?” I’m still wondering, but I’m not complaining.

    One nice thing about not having cable is that they can’t see all the commercials for all the stuff they’re missing. Silver linings, right? 😉

    Yes, it really is nice when it’s over. And I believe it’s all over now. No more “bright spots in the midst of the rough time” but that the rough time itself is all over.

    I’m so happy things are looking up for you too! I know you’ve had your rough spots too, so it’s especially nice to hear that you’re not feeling so pinched, and stressed out from that. That kind of stress makes Christmas hard, so it’s awesome to see you feeling “Christmasy.” That means only good things. 😀

    *hugs* you! Merry Christmas lil sis!

    Like

  4. I remember what it’s like to be a kid desperately wanting new toys and such, but I have to say, those sock ants are pretty cool!

    LOL I can make you a set. 😉

    Have a blessed Christmas Spark. 😀

    Like

  5. I’m thankful things are working out for you guys. Yes, Jesus is the reason for the season, but so are children.

    Happy New Year!

    Aw, thanks sweetie. Yep, you are absolutely right on that score!

    Happy New Year to you too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

