Post Christmas Happy

 funny pictures - Shh! Wut dat?  Is dat rayndeerz?

My son.  He tried to put up a brave front, he really did.  He grinned for the camera when he opened his presents.  He thought he was getting odds and ends type camping kind of stuff.  I’d been telling him that Christmas would be small, that we’d do the best we could with what we had, and he cowboy’d up.  Then I had him open one smallish gift that I insisted not be opened until close to last.  He ripped off the paper and tears sprung to his eyes.  He yelled, he “woo’d,” he fist-pumped, and he hugged us, saying it was the best Christmas ever.  He got the game he really, really, really wanted for the game system. 

Best Christmas ever.  Now that’s what parents love to hear.  🙂

And my daughter got the Barbie she wanted so bad that she almost cried when she pointed them out to me a couple of months ago at the store, thinking they’d all be gone by whenever we might be able to get it.  She spent a good portion of Christmas day playing in the sink, watching Barbie’s hair change color. 

It was a wonderful Christmas.  🙂

The only down side was Darc getting sick, and then the foot of snow that got dumped on the area, which meant the car needed to be scraped off, and he wouldn’t let me do it.  Now his chivalry has caused him to feel even worse, I think, but I’m hoping it’s that low point of sickness that comes just before it starts to break.  I’ve kept him supplied with hot tea with honey by the gallon, and lots of homemade chicken stew.  Hopefully he’ll wake up Monday morning feeling better. 

It has been a great weekend. 

So how was yours?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon 

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Family Life, Holiday, Joy | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Post Christmas Happy

  1. Aw, I hope DK is feeling better today. Glad you guys had a good holiday. I can feel the joy oozing out of your post. 🙂

    Thanks dolly. 🙂 I think he’s improving, but he still has a way to go, unfortunately. I do think however that he’s doing better this time around than with colds he’s had in the past, so that’s a good thing. 🙂

    Like

  2. Shawn

    What a flaming pile of dogshit. I’m so tired of working two jobs to see my money go into everybody else’s joy… only to realize that nobody cares if I even show up or not.

    I spent over $300 clearing out my wife’s wish list. I got an effin $6 ratchet set I personally wouldn’t have bought for anyone older than ten.

    I’m so done. So done with Christmas. I’ve oft wished it the holiday had an “opt out” button. Next year I’m going to make an opt out button for myself. Done. Finito.

    I have no real family of my own and it’s time I accepted that ugly truth and stop putting myself into circumstances that leave me acting like a passive-aggressive jackwad.

    You sound like a man in pain, Shawn, and my heart hurts for you. I wish I knew what words would help ease your spirit but all I can come up with is that I know how it feels. I know what it’s like to feel like no one appreciates anything you do. Been there divorced that, as the saying goes.

    I think it’s often harder for men these days. Remember in A Christmas Story, where all the dad got was a tie? Men are supposed to do all the giving and not expect to receive anything. That may have worked when men were the breadwinners and wives stayed home. It’s different now with more women in the workforce, and earning their own money apart from their husbands. Men have come to expect more, and I don’t think that’s unreasonable.

    Some couples don’t exchange gifts at all. I know Darc and I haven’t done the spousal gift thing for years, pretty much since our son was born, because for us the focus is on the kids. He and I can get gifts for each other any day of the year (when there’s money for it, of course!) but Christmas paper ripping is for the little ones.

    It should be mutual though. We agree to get gifts to x limit, or we agree not to get gifts, or we agree to have our “couple’s Christmas” in April, or whatever. You get the idea, I’m sure. Less chance of hurt feelings when you both agree to something like that. Then you both know what to expect, or not to expect.

    I’m so sorry you don’t feel appreciated in your home. I can’t fix it, but I can *hug* you, let you know I get it, for whatever that’s worth. *hugs* I’ll be keeping you in my prayers.

    Like

  3. Hi DF,
    The best Christmas ever! How can you top that?

    I’m so glad you guys had a good holiday!!

    MR

    Aw, thanks MR!

    I hope yours was awesome – did you travel again?

    Like

    • We stayed home this year. Spent all our gas $$ on the Thanksgiving trip!

      It might have been for the best. The weather here was real bad over the holiday.

      Seems like nearly the whole country got hit with something this Christmas. We got around a foot of global warming, and I know there was a blizzard back east too. Home is where the heart is anyway, right? 🙂 Better to be safe than sorry when traveling is scary like that.

      Like

  4. Courtney&Matthew

    Oh that’s wonderful 🙂 I’m so glad to hear you guys had a nice Christmas and the kids were so thrilled. It must be such an amazing feeling.

    It IS an amazing feeling. 😀 I can’t wait for you to feel it too. 🙂 You’re going to be such a good mommy.

    Like

  5. This is the best Christmas story. I’m so happy for you guys!

    Aww, thanks so much dear YC. 🙂 *hugs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

