Wednesday Wombat

So, the other day we had some errands to run, library, stuff like that.  As I was opening the car door for my son, I happened to look down … and saw that he wasn’t wearing any shoes.

“What the … where are your shoes?!  It’s 20° out here and you don’t have any shoes on!”

“Uhm … I forgot, I guess.”

“You forgot?  You forgot your shoes?  How in the world does one forget shoes, especially when one is walking on frozen snowy concrete in 20° weather?!”

At which point his father dragged him back into the house for his shoes.  I swear.  *eyeroll*

*****

Now that my friend has brought over all her unwanted sewing stuff, it’s brought home to me how desperately I need to do some organizing around here.  Did I say 7 bins of fabric?  Not little bins either, but the big ones you use to store holiday stuff.  The B-I-G bins.  7 of them.  Full of fabric.  7 giants bins.  The stack is about 6’ high, I’m not kidding.  She’s a quilter and has always maintained that if I just tried it, I’d love it.  See, I’ve always enjoyed making baby quilts by hand, but just a simple 2 piece kind of affair.  My friend makes the kinds of quilts that people will pay several hundred dollars for, really complex kinds of designs with tons of tiny pieces.  I just don’t have the patience (nor the space!) for all those little pieces.  I think I might be able to make some simple designs though. 

But I digress.  I have all these bins of fabric now, and while my apartment is a decent one, it’s not big enough to just leave 7 giants bins sitting around, and the bins won’t fit in my little storage closet.  I’m going to have to break down and get several smaller bins so I can store them, there’s just no other way.  I figure if I’m going to do that, I might as well go the whole route and do the whole place.  It’s time.  I guess that’s sort of like a New Year’s Resolution, right? 

***** 

Funny Pictures-MORTAL WOMBAT

*****

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon 

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Family Life, Friends, Personal, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Wombat

  1. Last night, while visiting somebody, my shoes were taken by another person. I had to stay nearly another hour because I had no shoes.

    Who would take your shoes? Taking the wrong shoes is almost as bad as forgetting to wear shoes. How can someone not know their own shoes? At least you had the good sense to wait until they brought your shoes back.

    Like

  2. I’m glad to hear that all y’all had such a wonderful Christmas! I hope that Darc is feeling better.

    Slowly but surely, but now the kids have it. 😦 Thanks hon. 🙂

    All those Tuesday Tootsies and your son forgets his shoes? He has a family tradition to uphold!

    LOLOL You know, I didn’t even think of that! You’re absolutely right!

    I look forward to hearing what you get up to with all that fabric!

    Oh me too! 😉

    Like

  3. Courtney&Matthew

    Ooooh quilting! I’ve always wanted to try it, that could be lots of fun! 🙂 And quilts are so beautiful, too!

    I just picked up my sewing machine from my Mom’s over Christmas, it’s been about 10 years since I’ve used it, but I really want to get back into making clothes, and lots of fun stuff for the baby. 🙂

    Oooh, you’re going to have so much fun! I made the whole crib ensemble thing for my son way back before he was born. It was a blast. 🙂

    Bins are nice… when they fit. You can get some pretty amazing closet organizers though.

    You sure can these days! I found some decent bins at Wallyworld, clear so I can see what’s in them, and for pretty cheap too. Just need a couple more – the ones she gave me held a lot more than I realized!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Half Off Shoes from Shoebacca.com » Get your daily Groupon deals

  5. Start with a simple pattern (like a 9 patch) and you’ll be hooked on the more complex ones in no time. Or you can do 5 inch (+1/2 inch for seam allowance) squares arranged to make your own pattern. Those are fast, easy and addictive.

    That’s exactly what I’m looking for! Well, the fast and easy part, maybe not so much the addictive part. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

