Traveling on Tuesdays

funny pictures-travel agent kitteh

I spent a lot of time last year, trying to think of what I was going to do to replace the shoe posts.  I was thinking about traveling, and then WIGSF suggested traveling, so I figured I’d go with it.  It was a sign!  LOL 

My goal is to do a different state every week.  I’ve been in lots of states but not all of them, and I thought it would be fun to do some research as though I were going to travel to that state, and what kinds of things would I want to know?

So that’s my plan.  Unfortunately, getting online to look up my blog has been next to impossible, let alone doing research of any kind, so I don’t really have a state for this week.  An “introduction” will have to do I suppose. 

Do you have favorite things you like to do in your state, or in states you visit?  What would you recommend if someone wanted to visit your state? 

I hope you join me on the “tour”! 

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon 

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

 

Categories: Travels | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Traveling on Tuesdays

  1. Matt and I have a list of states we want to visit someday when we finally make a road trip to the US, including a list of places to see in each state, and specific types of foods or restaurants in each place we would have to try while there.

    Like if we ever found ourselves in Chicago, we couldn’t leave until we tried a real deep dish pizza, Chicago-style, there are lots of places here that claim they are a deep dish, or frozen ones that are that style, but we want the real, genuine thing. It could be terrible, but it’s on the list.

    Uno’s, Geno’s East, or Lou Malnatti’s. You could look them up and see if any of them will ship to you, like a frozen pizza that you only have to cook. There was a place in CA that did that, so maybe some out here do too. 🙂 Of those 3, Uno’s is my personal choice. The other 2 use lots of sauce. Oh, and you’ll need a knife and fork!

    And likewise, if you ever visited Nova Scotia, I wouldn’t let you leave until you had apples fresh from the Annapolis Valley (we are one of the largest supplies of apples in Canada), and granted they wouldn’t kill you, lobster from the pier in Barrington Passage, scallops from Digby (the ONLY scallops to sell if you have any decency), and haddock right off the boat from Pubnico. Friends of mine just came home to visit from Ontario, and they have been living there for two years now, and still cannot find a place that serves true fish and chips. They make everything with cod and call it a Maritimer Favourite, simply because it’s fish.

    Now look at that mess – you said lobster and my mouth watered all over the place! LOL Those all sound wonderful. 🙂 I want to see the trees on PEI too, the ones from that scene in Anne of Green Gables with Meghan Follows, when they were taking her home from the train station. Breathtaking!

    I’m excited to see what you post about the places you’ve been to, maybe our list will grow now, and we’ll have more sights to see when we make our trip.

    You’ll need to take off like a year to travel around seeing everything, and as you go along on your travels, you’ll see things you’ll want to stop and check out, that weren’t on the list. 🙂

    Like

  2. DF, there’s only one problem with your “road trip”.

    Since there’s only 52 weeks in the year & Obama says there’s 57 states, which 5 states will you be forced to leave out of your tour? 🙂

    HAHAHAHA! That’s easy, MR! CLEARLY Obama was thinking about the 57 states of the Organization of the Islamic Conference. ( http://www.stoptheaclu.com/2008/05/12/obamas-freudian-slip-there-are-57-islamic-states/ ) I am talking about the states of the United States of America. 😀

    For CA, I’d say you have to see the Sierra Nevada, Lake Tahoe for sure & a drive along the coast on Highway 1 near Big Sur or a drive down Highway 49 through The Mother Lode (gold country).
    MR

    Oh my gosh yes, the PCH! Those you mentioned as well as Yosemite, Sequoia National Forest, and some of the places in SF even. Who could pass up Ghirardelli and gen-u-wine sourdough bread?

    Like

  3. If you’re missing the shoe posts……..from Carl’s site:

    http://carldagostino.wordpress.com/2010/12/29/the-little-known-world-of-shoes-by-carl-dagostino/

    MR

    LOLOL Those are great! Thanks for the link! 🙂

    Like

  4. Happy New Year! Traveling is awesome–you know, when you have time, money, or an Internet connection.

    Ha! Only too true!

    Now I live in Texas, and what would I say is good to visit here? I’ve long wanted to go to Marfa, but I haven’t been yet. There are interesting artists there and the strange Marfa lights. Austin is my favorite place, of course, but it is the blue dot in a red sea, so it may not be to your liking.

    Honey, I live in a blue dot in a bluer sea. 😀 A blue dot in a red sea would be a breath of fresh air!

    The thing to ask is–what do you like to do when you visit a new place? Are you a where-can-I-go-hiking person, a Are-there-any-cool-museums person, or a Are-there-any-great-shops person? We do have it all here in central Texas!

    Those are all excellent questions. We’ve been watching this DVD series from the library, they have one for almost every state, and they’re full of fun and interesting things to do and places to see in each one, plus a tiny bit of history. They’ve been really neat to watch. 🙂

    Like

  5. All the states will be new to me except, ironically, New England. I was there in 1984 and visited the Wood’s Hole Oceanographic Institute. Sadly what I remember most was the inside of our hotel room and being trapped in the shower there covered with soap when the water turned off. It eventually came back on again. Our room was above the laundry, so every time their industrial washers filled up our water went away.

    You lost water, in a hotel? Oh my gosh, that’s terrible! Did you call any place like the Better Business Bureau or anything to let them know the accommodations were less than inviting? That’s just terrible! I hope they refunded your money!

    What state was that in? Massachusetts?

    Like

  6. Wyoming is all about tourism and fun things to do. You can request brochures from the state to cut down on you internet time.

    That’s a great idea! Thanks. 🙂 I may have to see if I can get to the library too. This almost never connection thing really stinks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

