Mindful

Oddest thing happened to me at the grocery store the other day.  Darc was pushing the cart with the kids while I went down an aisle to grab something.  I heard a woman start talking but ignored it.  People talk all the time in Walmart.  Then I heard my husband respond.  What?  Someone’s talking to Darc?  Out of the blue?  That just doesn’t happen!  Curious, I grabbed what I was looking for and went to see what was going on.  Turned out the woman thought our son looked like a boy her daughter knew from school or something, and she’d seen Darc give the KnytLite a hug and so she commented on that. 

Yep, we hug and kiss our kids in public.

Anyway, she started chatting.  She was talking about school, because of course when she asked what school we sent our kids to, Darc explained that we homeschooled. 

“Wow!  Really?  You guys must be like super smart!”

I think we both struggled not to say, “Oh yes, we both have genius level IQs.”  Winking smile 

Darc went off to fill up the cart, leaving me with the talkative mom.  So she and I chatted a bit about homeschooling, and faith too, believe it or not.  She had a very sanguine personality and was one of those people who everyone they meet is an instant friend and they’ll chat companionably for hours.  Smile

It was just one of those interesting kinds of experiences.

*****

Later I was reading a post from one of the moms I follow.  She’s really funny, and she actually created quite a stir in the beginning of her blogging, because she actually got offered a book contract for her stories of being a mom to her 6 kids.  Naturally, being married to a writer and knowing lots of writers, I knew it wasn’t typical for book contracts to just fall out of the sky like that. 

Life has dealt her some blows the last couple of years though and she’s really struggled to cope.  I can relate to that.  I can SO relate to that.  What I love about Dawn is that it seems she has a built in humor meter, something I have always lacked.  She recently did a post about perspective and it really touched my heart. 

Naturally I had to share it with you.  Smile  I am trying really hard to be like the 2nd story.  I have a long long long long long long long way to go, but then again, it’s not so easy to overcome all those years of bad habits.  But I’m trying!

I hope you check out her post.  Smile

A Tale of Due Pities
Below are two stories about the stuff that has happened the last few months. I’ve written two different accounts of the same events. They’re both true stories. They’re both accurate.

Because I Said So- The official Blog of Author and Mom Blogger Dawn Meehan

*****

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Family Life, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Mindful

  1. A woman talking to your husband? And you didn’t claw her eyes out screaming “Stay away from man!”
    Or has years of watching Jerry Springer altered my perception of what really happens within the four walls of a Wal-Mart?

    You know, I saw Springer and my brain filled in the face of Seinfeld and I couldn’t figure out WTH he had to do with Walmart. On 2nd glance, now I know. 😉

    As for other women talking to my husband, I can only laugh. Who? Me threatened? Honey, Angelina Jolie and Megan Fox both could offer him their nude selves on a platter and he’d turn his nose up in finicky disdain. Whatever they might offer him wouldn’t even be in the same ballpark compared to what we have. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for linking to that other post. That’s a perspective reminder that I need today.

    I’m so glad it helped you. 🙂 She’s an amazing woman.

    Like

  3. steve

    You’re simply the best!

    Aww Steve, you’re such a boost for me. If you weren’t the best yourself I wouldn’t love you as much as I do. *hugs*

    Like

  4. I love running into random people in public. Strangers can be so funny sometimes 🙂

    I met an older woman just last week buying groceries at Matt’s work, he saw someone at his service counter, it was quite late (24 hour store) so there was no one in the department to help her, so he asked her what she needed… he helped her pick out a beautiful prime rib roast, but she hadn’t the slightest clue on how to cook it, let alone in the crock pot like she wanted to. So he called me over, and we we had a big ol’ yarn about how to cook a roast in a crock. Then I ran into the other night at the mall, she was super sweet!

    They can be funny! They certainly add a little spice to the mix. 🙂 Speaking of roasts, you inspired me to put my roasting method on my recipes blog, so thank you! 😀

    You should have told that lady you were members of Mensa 🙂 (I really wanted to, LOL)

    That lady’s blog is interesting. Six kids sounds crazy to me. She’s had a tough row to hoe lately. But she’s kept her sense of humor. 🙂

    Like

    • It sounds like it. I admire her ability to look at things clearly though. That’s something I hope I can keep in check when the baby arrives. I am always working on it, because I panic easily, and get worked up.. I hope I remember to breathe when the baby gets here.

      Just breathe, that’s right. 🙂 You’ll learn quickly, because if you get all worked up about something, baby will wake up, and you won’t want that. Baby will get you all trained in a hurry, don’t doubt it. 😉

      Like

  5. Dawn

    Awww, thank you for your wonderful words! :*)

    Thanks so much for stopping by Dawn! How great to see you!

    Thank YOU for being so upbeat on your posts all the time. You are doing something good there. 🙂
    ~Ness

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

