Watching

Morgan, over at House of Eratosthenes had a post the other day that kind of made me laugh.  Go check it out!  I’ll wait.  Smile

MEN’S MOVIE REVIEW

Not only is this all I need when a film comes out, but if I was a film critic this is pretty much all I’d provide. Guess I better keep the day job…

Yeah, the casting, who got an award for what, who’s directing, who’s hoping this is their big comeback vehicle — just kindly skip it all. Fill in the appropriate check marks, below, and that’s good enough for me. That’s more than good enough for me.

via House of Eratosthenes.

I was thinking of Darc and how he likes to watch movies, and how I like to watch movies, which sometimes is more like how a guy watches movies.  Don’t get me wrong, I still do the occasional “chick flick” but I won’t do “Rom-Coms” or comedies in general anymore.  I even snub romances now, for the most part.

I thought of WIGSF and Bob, and I think the linked checklist would be awesome for them and their movie marathon thing they do with their friends. 

It’s a fortunate thing if I can remember if I’ve even seen a movie.  I don’t know why, but generally, when I see a movie, it goes in one eye, gains speed, and goes out the other.  One time I was searching through a playlist way back when we had cable and came across a movie I thought had potential.  I asked Darc, “This looks good,  how about this one?”

His reply?

“We saw that last weekend.” 

… Oh.

I thought I’d keep a running list of movies I’ve seen over on Flixter, much like the Shelfari site, but I never remember to check in there, because I can’t recall anything about recent movies I’ve seen.  With the books at least I can go get it and have it in front of me to fill out the Shelfari info stuff.  With movies I’m at a complete loss.  Gosh, if I ever made it to Jeopardy, it would be on the Special Movie Edition day or something like that, and I’d stand there with my little buzzer thing and a completely blank look.  I’d have to start drooling or something so the audience would think I’d had a stroke, and not just a complete idiot when it comes to movies. 

But I never forget a birthday.  Open-mouthed smile

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

 

Categories: Family Life | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Watching

  1. That’s why the wife doesn’t send me to the video store…. I’d come home with the same movie we rented last weekend!

    In one eye & out the other for me too…..if I don’t fall asleep first! :mrgreen:

    MR

    LOL If we watched movies together, we could probably see the same one over and over and not even realize it. 😀

    Like

  2. It’s too bad that pretty well every movie these days sucks donkey balls. Watching movies today has become either a sleep-inducing waste of money or a painful ordeal.

    I know! We got Netflix and Darc asked me what I wanted to watch. Then I heard crickets chirping. I couldn’t think of a thing, except Iron Man 2, which isn’t on streaming yet. I’m scared to see Transformers 3, but I know the kids are going to want to see it. T2 sucked those appetizers you mentioned, too.

    Like

  3. I watch only movies I really want to see–no movies to kill time or because someone else wants to see it (excepting the kiddo, of course) or just because. And I remember way too much, so that if I saw a scary movie when I 10, I can tell you exactly the scene that terrified me. I can remember trailers for most movies too–and for many movies, once you’ve seen the trailer, what else is there?

    Amusing checklist. And it made me think of writing–what to make sure I’m not doing.

    LOL Darc said he was going to stick to just the trailers too. 🙂

    I remember the exact scene from Dark Shadows when I was 3 that sent me hiding under the bed. Some things just stay with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

