Tasty Tuesday Travels

Monticello, Mt. Vernon, and Williamsburg.  Ham, and peanuts.  They like things salty in Virginia!  I knew about the ham, but I didn’t know that Virginia is also famous for its peanuts.  Smile

*

*

It’s a basket shaped like Virginia!  I love it, and want it!  Send me 2, would ya?  Thanks!

image

*

*

Must start the day off right, with a nice fine Virginia wine.  Smile

image

*

*

Oysters Rockefeller, yum!  I had these once.  Guy took me on a date – in the pre-Darc days of course! – and insisted I have a surf and turf meal.  He ordered these for me.  I was sure I’d hate them, not being a seafood fan then, but I ended up loving them. 

image

*

*

Virginia cured ham!  Is there any finer ham on the planet? 

image

*

*

Here’s one blogger’s take on a gratin recipe, using Virginia ingredients.  Doesn’t it look so tasty?

image
A spin on this recipe: Summer Squash Gratin

*

*

Here’s something you can get if you visit the Virginia Aquarium.  They don’t hold back there!

image
Home ~ Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center

*

*

Virginia grown veggies – colorful!

image

*

*

I wish I’d had this biscuit recipe before Easter so I could have made them for our dinner.

image
Virginia Box Bread Recipe

*

*

Seems Virginia is know for nuts, too.  Smile

image

*

*

You knew I wouldn’t leave that sweet tooth unattended! 

image

*

*

Here’s a sweet sample you can find at the Taste of Arlington.  Save me a plate!

image

*

*

I love Virginia.  I want to live there.  Perfect blend of north and south, elegant and country at the same time.  And the Blue Ridge Mountains are so beautiful, I want them in my view all the time.  We spent a few days there a few years ago, and I actually cried when we left.  It felt like leaving home.  Maybe one day I’ll get to go back.  Smile

 

Categories: Travels | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday Travels

  1. Starting this Tuesday morning off with some wine?? I see a pattern starting to develop here… :mrgreen:

    I hope your dream of living in Virginia comes true.

    MR

    I was thinking of you when I put it in the beginning. I now think of it as my toast to MR. 🙂 Cheers!

    Thank you. Me too!

    Like

  2. I’m hungry again…

    Me too! Dangit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

