Tasty Tuesday Travels

Did you know the oldest cheese factory in the US was in Ohio?  Me either! 

image

*

*

And of course, you can’t have great cheese without some great grapes and wine, also grown in Ohio. 

image

*

*

Mock chicken – an Ohio trend popular in the 70s.  Looks golden delicious, doesn’t it? 

image

*

*

Of course, you can’t live in a cheese state and not have cheesecake.  One of the beauties of cheesecake is that you can make it either sweet or savory.  I’m ready to dig in!

image

*

*

I used to make toffee.  Is your mouth watering?  Mine is! 

image

*

*

Behold, the Ohio Shaker Lemon Pie.  I adore lemon pie!  Not a big fan of meringue, but I love lemon.  This is how lemon pie should be done and I have to have this recipe.  Smile

image

*

*

You can’t visit the Buckeye State and not indulge in the candy Buckeye.  It’s the law!  Winking smile  Don’t they look tasty? 

image

*

*

I’ve been through Ohio a couple of times.  The most recent time, we passed through the state capitol.  Their capitol building reminded me of our national capitol.  I remember thinking how pretty it was, near sunset, with that lovely dome. 

As always, click the pics for links.  Have a great and tasty day!

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Travels | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday Travels

  1. I can’t wait until we can travel again and sample all this great stuff ourselves. ‘Course, we’ll need a really BIG vehicle since we’re going to be HUGE after all that amazing food…

    We’ll just have to limit ourselves to just one bite. 🙂

    Like

  2. Wait, does that lemon pie have whole slices of lemon in it? Hmm… That is not tempting to me. However, the toffee and the candy sure do look good.

    It does. I wondered about that too, but the recipe says that all the cooking and sugar softens and sweetens them so they’re not bitter but do pack a flavor punch.

    I am a toffee lover! Homemade is the best. Not so much a fan of peanut butter candy though. 🙂

    Like

  3. The state of Ohio is home to some great speed traps too!

    Will be waiting for that Lemon Pie recipe to be posted over at AGT!

    MR

    I don’t know nothin’ about no speed traps, officer! 😀

    You think it’s okay to post it there, even though I’ve never tried it myself? I wasn’t sure.

    Like

  4. What is the chicken mocking?

    The pig that got used in the recipe instead. 😉

    If you get the recipe for the lemon pie, I think you should share.

    Here ya go! Ohio Shaker Lemon Pie

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

