Tasty Tuesday Travels

Think beauty.  Think mountains.  Think history.  American history.  Think Pennsylvania!

*

*

Did you know there are over 140 wineries in PA?  I didn’t either! 

image

*

*

PA has a strong German population, and you know where there are Germans, there is beer.  I can say that because I’m half German.  Smile  Yep, the other half is Irish, and amazing enough, neither half likes to drink much.  Go figure!

image

*

*

Lebanon Bologna.  Looks like salami, but it’s made from beef.  Oh, I have to try some of this!

image

*

*

Scrapple.  It’s made from pork scraps.  And corn meal.  It’s like sausage.  Smile 

image

*

*

Put a little PA syrup on that scrapple and I bet it really jazzes things up.  I love syrup on sausage.

image

*

*

Now this is a sandwich spread I could get into!

image

*

*

Speaking of sandwiches, how about some great bread?

image

*

*

How about some sausage soup?  Now that’s a way to eat sausage I’ve never tried.

image

*

*

Pork roast, anyone?  What about pork roast with sauerkraut?  It actually looks pretty tasty!

image

*

*

For dessert, some shoofly pie.  Smile

image

*

*

Whoopi pies!  Whoopee!

image

*

*

Like doughnuts?  (Who doesn’t?!)  Like potatoes?  Then you’ll love these potato doughnuts!  Don’t they look yummy?

image

*

*

And last but not least, one of the biggest reasons to visit Pennsylvania, Hershey’s!  Open-mouthed smile  Must. Visit. Hershey’s!

image

*

*

I traveled through PA when I was a kid, and it was one of the prettiest states I’d ever seen, and I grew up in CA.  I was particularly struck by western PA, through the mountain areas as we drove through.  We didn’t have mountains quite like that in CA.  Winking smile  That vision of loveliness has stayed with me all these years and one day I hope to return, and get some pictures next time!

Have an awesome day and as always, click the pics for links and, in some cases, recipes.  Smile

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Travels | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday Travels

  1. Scrapple. It’s made from pork scraps. And corn meal. It’s like sausage.

    …but it sure doesn’t taste like sausage! It’s an acquired taste I believe!

    My best description of it would be ” fried head cheese”. They use “everything but the oink”.

    MR

    Hmmm. It doesn’t sound so fun now! LOL

    Like

    • Onyx

      This “scrapple” was sounding pretty nifty until I read this comment… anything compared to head cheese shouldn’t exist.

      Ha! You echoed my sentiments exactly! LOL

      Like

  2. WTH?! Potato donuts? Scrapple? It’s going to take more than syrup to cover up that taste. I’m afraid to ask what’s in Shoofly pie. No eating for me in PA.

    No scrapple for you either? I thought it was sort of like sausage, but MR schooled me on that one. I think the potato doughnuts have great potential though. 🙂 Never had shoofly pie either but I’ve heard it’s yummy.

    Like

  3. Onyx

    That Lebanon Bologna sounds yummy!

    Maple syrup is delish on so many things, and once you have real syrup from a sugar shack, it’s soooo hard to go back to the aunt Jemima stuff. There are a lot of sugar shacks here, and Quebec has a really nice one I visited about 12 years ago.

    I have never had shoofly pie, and never heard of it until last year, I read a book called Watermelon Syrup and the character talks of shoofly pie in it. I looked it up, it sounds yummy.

    Matt’s Mom makes the best whoopy pies, they’re soooooo yummy!

    You’re making me hungry…

    I’ve had maple syrup from Wisconsin. It really does taste better. 🙂

    Go eat something! I don’t like the thought of you being hungry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

