Multiples

funny pictures - Single Page Multiple Tabs Firefox page display optionsI’m a bit of a geek.  Not much, but a little.  My husband had to set up some things on his computer and I volunteered for the task.  Figured out why his Firefox install wouldn’t open the new tab to the page he wanted it to, too.  Now it works like he wants, his computer is set up like he wants, and my guy is a happy computer camper.  In all the years I’ve known him, I don’t think he’s been as pleased with his computer set-up as he is now.

For that matter, that goes for me too.  Smile

My little tablet came in a few days early – joy jumps galore!  I got the Kindle App on there right away and now I don’t have to read on my little 2” phone screen, and I don’t need my reading light.  Now I have a big (by comparison!) 7” tablet screen.  I think I downloaded close to 30 books that night – all free, so the tablet has already paid for itself, and I’ve only gone through the first couple hundred items of Google’s free section.  There are over 15,000 items in there!  It will take me months to go through it too, so I won’t suffer from any reading shortage for probably years.  Hallelujah!  I felt like a junkie getting multiple fixes all at once.  Oooh, that one looks good!  Click!  Hey, I’ve always wanted to read that one!  Click!  And like magic they show up on my tablet, ready for me to dig in.  The thing I love about my tablet is that it does everything my smartphone does, except the phone part, only bigger.  So I can web surf, download apps, take pictures, and have a kick-ass eReader too.  All for less than the cost of a Kindle.  Technology is so awesome.  Smile  And I am so grateful.  A mere 6 mos ago the thought of actually owning anything like this seemed like some kind of impossible dream.  God is good.  Smile

My house is a disaster though!  I spent so much time setting up computers and running around and yes, being lazy too, that I didn’t get a wisp of housework done.  It shows!  It’s the kind of day to throw a roast in the oven so I don’t have to worry about dinner while I get my butt in gear and get some stuff done.  Monday has its advantages!  Often it’s nice to get back in the groove, back in the routine of things.  It gives me a sense of accomplishment in a way, and a sense of accomplishment is a wonderful thing.  Open-mouthed smile

So how was your weekend?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Get your copy of my husband’s books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

Categories: Family Life, Joy, Thankfulness, Weekend | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Multiples

  1. My home is always a mess. Oh well.

    We haven’t made the leap to any kind of e-reader yet. We’re not sure when or which one. It is daunting to think of all the great things out there that I’m never going to have to to read.

    Hope you find some good stuff!

    I tell ya, 6 mos ago I never thought I’d own an ereader of any kind, so you never know what might happen. 🙂 You might find you want the chance to carry around a library of books all at once in the palm of your hand. Prices are coming down all the time, too. 🙂

    Like

  2. But how about the psychic experience? I’m not sure I could part with the tactile experience of a real book – the ability to mark pages and lines. And you feel so serious and superior when you’re walking around carrying a book – as opposed to yet another electronic gadget, which for all anyone else knows, you may be using to download Lady GaGa videos. Also, what will you do in the event of nuclear war when all electronic systems are shot? I’ll be able to read my book.

    The psychic experience? ROFL! See, that’s one of the beauties of a tablet – I can read AND download Lady Gaga if I wanted. 😀 And just so you know, you can bookmark things and make notes. 🙂 And if we ever have a nuclear war, you’d only be able to read in the daytime, that is if we weren’t using books for firewood. 😉

    What cracks me up most about people so opposed to the ereader thing, is that they seem perfectly fine with complaining about digital media … on digital media. O_o

    Like

  3. Onyx

    Happy to hear your tablet showed up early 🙂 That’s super fun… enjoy all the freebies, sounds like there’s plenty to keep you occupied for awhile!

    I love roast dinners, little effort, but looks and tastes like you spent hours at it.. and nice to get a chance to putter at housework. As long as I can get my dishes done each day, I’m happy.

    Onyx, you are just the veriest sweetest thing. 🙂 I know how busy you are being a new mommy and all. Thank you for visiting, it’s so good to see you! *hugs*

    Like

  4. I’m very grateful for all your help, pudd. You are the shining star of my life, eclipsed only by the brightness of The Son. 😉

    It is my pleasure to help you Love! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

