Tasty Tuesday Travels

Mississippi is home to a few things, food wise.  I did a little research and found that there’s a big shrimp industry there.  Check out the size of those things! 

image

*

*

Sweet potatoes are also big in MS.  And you just can’t have a traditional Thanksgiving without sweet potato pie.  Smile

image

*

*

Unless you’re having sweet potato crunch, which looks a bit bigger and has pecans on top.  Hence the crunch.  Smile

image

*

*

Speaking of pecans, they’re huge in MS!  I don’t necessarily mean size wise, but crop size.  They’re abundant in the south.  These are Cajun spiced pecans. 

image

*

*

And pecan pie, naturally.  Smile

image

*

*

If I thought I had a crave on for Pralines ‘n’ Cream ice cream before, it’s madness now!  Check out these sweet, delicious pralines!  The recipe looks easy too.  Just click the pic!

image

*

*

Of course, you can’t have Mississippi with Mississippi Mud Pie!  That looks so dreamy! 

image

*

*

I’ve never been to Mississippi.  Have you?  I think when I get there I’m going to eat my way through the state!  I love pecans, so I’ll be right at home.  Open-mouthed smile

*

*

As always, click the pics for recipes and/or more information, and have a great and tasty day!  Smile

Categories: Travels | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday Travels

  1. Onyx

    Never been a fan of shrimp. I’ve tried a couple of times, and a couple of different ways, and I just cannot do it. I end up spitting it back out every time, so I finally gave up a couple of years ago.

    Sweet potatoes aren’t huge here. SP fries are, but that’s usually about it. I’ve never had SP pie. Pecan pie however… yum! 🙂

    I like coconut shrimp, but other than that, I’m not a huge fan either. But the coconut recipe is amazing. 🙂

    Like

  2. I understand shrimp and oyster beds had pollution and contamination problems before the oil leak. Is there any measurement for today’s levels? I don’t trust this dispersement stuff. After a while the water ratios will increase so how can it be dispersed to insignificant levels as contaminants increase? I think there must be a significant difference between “safe” to eat or drink and “healthy” to eat and drink.

    I suspect you’re right about the difference between safe and healthy, Carl. I haven’t looked into this as I don’t get any seafood from this region. It’s much closer to you though so maybe it’s something you could look into?

    Like

    • Between the dispersants still being used on the BP disaster in the Gulf, the unknown levels of contamination being continually released into our oceans by Fukushima & our governments refusal to address the health risks associated with either disaster, you’re taking your chances if you still eat seafood. You just don’t know where it’s coming from.
      Oil dispersants used in Gulf of Mexico spill causing alarm

      MR

      Thanks for the info and link, MR. 🙂

      Like

  3. I would like one serving of all of the above, please. And don’t skimp on the pie! 😉

    LOL You sound like me! I was thinking that same thing when I was scouring for the pictures. 🙂

    Like

  4. I love pecans too! The best pecan pie I ever had was in East Texas. A friend baked us a chocolate pecan pie from an old family recipe. It was to die for!

    MR

    PS Almost made that lemon pie yesterday, but got lazy.

    Chocolate and pecans are delicious apart, together is heavenly. 🙂

    Let me know if you do make the lemon one! Sometimes a day just needs a good lazy. 🙂

    Like

  5. Yum! I love pecans just about every way.

    Pecans and cashews are my favorite nuts. Well, macadamias too. 🙂

    Like

  6. I though I was your favorite nut. Hmph.

    You ARE my favorite nut! So are they! And after that comes cashews and the rest. But I was trying to keep it family friendly. 😉 :*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

