Powerless

imageAgain!

For the 2nd time in less than 3 weeks, we were without power.  A storm blew through here early in the morning yesterday and left a lot of debris in its wake.  There were branches and leaves all over the parking lot, and later after Darc got home and we went out to get something to eat, we saw lots of tree limbs on the ground.  We even saw an entire (huge) tree that was uprooted, and someone’s truck that was buckled by a tree falling on it!  We were lucky, I think.  There was a lot of damage around us, and we escaped unscathed.  Our power was out all day and only came on just before Darc got home, while it was out in other areas around us, including the businesses nearby. 

Of course, just because the power came back on didn’t mean the Internet connection came back online, oh no!  That remained out for a few more hours.  So, I could play tons of Freecell and Spider Solitaire, but couldn’t get to my Reader.  Such is life!  LOL 

Thankfully the power wasn’t out as long as it was last time either. 

So no real housework for me yesterday!  Ha!  No washing machine and no vacuum, wheeeee!  Of course, that means I have to catch up today so I guess it balances itself out.

Categories: Current Events, Day to Day Life | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Powerless

  1. We lost power the other night again, and it was flickering all day before hand, but the weather was fine, it was odd. Happy to hear you guys didn’t have to go without power for too long, and nothing of yours was damaged in the storms passing.

    I hate the flickers! LOL I get so paranoid that it’s going to just shut down when it flickers. Darc is still of the opinion that it was possibly an electrical storm that killed my last computer.

    Like

  2. Crazy summer, glad you are okay. 🙂

    It sure has been! Thanks hon. 🙂

    Like

  3. chicago lampoon

    I think this is like the beginning phase of Atlas Shrugged. All the productive people are going on strike and everything’s falling to pieces.

    We have to reach that breaking point and I’m not sure we’ve quite reached it yet. Soon though! I need to see that movie!

    Like

  4. Sparkling Red

    So far we’ve been really lucky with our power this year. There were a couple of major outages at my workplace, but none at home. The only problem with the one at work was that the garage door was open at the loading dock and we couldn’t close it without power!

    Not even a back-up plan for when the power is out? I thought they all had to have something like that, just in case. At least everything on the homefront has been stable, that’s pretty good. 🙂

    Like

  5. Lazy Americans. Wash your clothes by hand and sweep the floors. Sheesh.

    YOU wash your clothes by hand! And it’s hard to sweep carpet, so neener! Bossy Canadians!

    Like

  6. i read about your weather up there. you are not being spared. may any future outages (if any) last only three seconds, and may all your meals be cooked before the power goes out (i’ve had some interesting instances on this one). Plus may your candles all smell like vanilla and lavendar when you need night light.
    we have yet another thing in common . . . i excel in spider solitaire and am proficient at freecell. they are my game of choice during looong conference calls. Stay well

    Awww, thanks hon! That was so sweet! And I love vanilla and lavender! How did you know? 🙂

    Oh I love the mindless clicking of the cards! LOL Sometimes I feel like that’s the only way I can tell my brain has actually turned on, when I win. 🙂

    Like

  7. Hmmmmmmmmm… bummer!

    It was! It’s been a crazy summer, power-wise. *hugs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

