Weekending

It was a pretty special weekend for us here in the Darc house.  A certain pretty princess, who came into the world on a Sunday morning, turned 6 yesterday.  She has been so excited for so long!  A few weeks ago she saw me browsing recipes and one caught her eye.  She asked me, with sugar coated sweetness, if I would make it for her birthday.  This is the result:

100_0025

I was so happy!  It’s been a long time since I’ve done a layer cake – usually I stick to sheet cakes for the convenience factor – so I was a tad nervous about how it would turn out.  For the recipe and more pictures, check out my Nessipes blog, or the At Grandma’s Table blog.  Best part, the princess was thrilledSmile

We decided to hit Borders this weekend before they disappeared.  Honestly, their sale prices were way higher than Walmart’s full prices.  A 40% off DVD cost $25?  And they call that a sale?  :roll:  Now I know why they’re going out of business!  We dropped a dime on a few things – I found a book on the history of serial killers, booyah! – but for the most part were really disappointed in what we found.  Bye Borders.  It was real, it was fun, but it wasn’t real fun.

Darc did more keyboard shopping so I picked one up for myself too, one of those ergonomic dealies.  I swear, I’m trying really hard to get used to this thing.  I’m going to try to stick it out for a few days though.  I thought my typos were bad before!  Wow.

All in all it was a pretty great weekend.  How was yours?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

 

Categories: Family Life, Personal, Weekend | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekending

  1. That’s a pretty wild looking birthday cake! Glad the Princess enjoyed her big day! Sounds like The Queen did too!!

    MR

    Ha! You got that one right! LOL 😀 Thanks MR, it was a good day. 🙂

    Like

  2. What an awesome looking cake! Your little girl has a very special momma.

    Aww, thank you Berna! What a sweet thing to say!

    Like

  3. I can’t remember if I told you or not how beautiful this cake turned out! 🙂 It’s fantastic! ❤

    My Mom always made sheet cakes, too, and I have always enjoyed layered cakes.

    Why thank you sweetie! What a sweet thing to say! 🙂

    Sheet cakes are easier, layer cakes are more fun. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

