Whensday

I was listening to the kids talking about robotic toys while I was ironing.  They’d seen some toy cats and dogs the other day at Toys R Us, and made the comment that robotic toys were new. 

“Uh, no, new to YOU maybe, but robot type toys have been around a while.  I even had a couple of dolls when I was little that were robotic.”

Thankfully they spared me the “Wow, that long ago?!” lines.  :roll:

So, since I was ironing, I told them about one of my favorite dolls that I got when I was 6 or 7, called “Bizzie Lizzie.”  She came with a little iron and ironing board, feather duster, and vacuum.  I think it must have been my mother’s hope to inspire me to clean my “pigsty” of a room.  Do mothers ever use any other phrase to describe their kid’s bedroom?  Hmm.  I remember her screaming at me when I was little, “If you don’t learn to clean up this mess, who’s going to clean it when you’re out on your own?!”  My nonchalant answer back then was, “The maid!”  I might have been slapped for that one but I can’t recall. 

I spent a lot of happy hours with Lizzie.  She had long golden pony tails that came out of her head – they were just plugged in.  The plug ends looked like the ends of shoelaces.  My favorite thing to play with was the feather duster because that really “worked,” being simply a miniaturized version of a regular feather duster.  The iron and vacuum, not so much.  Mostly, she was the giant maid that came in to clean Barbie’s Townhouse.  Because Barbie was the ruler of my magical little play world, and more than anything else I wanted to grow up and be just like her.  Yes, I did have a ton of Barbie shoes.  And boots! 

But I loved Lizzie for a time.

And the irony struck me, as I stood there ironing, that in a few ways, I ended up much like Bizzie Lizzie and not nearly as much Barbie as I’d thought I would. 

Lizzie’s reality crashed my Barbie dreams I suppose.  Oh well.  I didn’t really want to be a Malibu beach bum anyway.  I burn too easily.  Winking smile

 

image

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Memories, Personal, Whensday | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Whensday

  1. I distinctly remember seeing TV ads during childhood for dolls that were primitively robotic. Remember “chatty Cathy” — you pulled a chord and she “spoke” recorded messages. And then there was one that cried and wet her pants and the girl would have to change a diaper. For boys, all I can remember were “Rock ‘Em, Sock ‘Em” boxers, which were primitive robots and if you hit the opponent in the jaw, his head would shoot up on a spring.

    Oh goodness, I remember Chatty Cathy and Rock ‘em Sock ‘em Robots! My nephew (same age as me) had those (the robots!) and we played all the time! He had cool car racing stuff that was electronic. And the time honored electronic football – remember that? You plugged it in and it made the “field” vibrate, which caused the little magnetized players to move around. Ahh, memories. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’ve never heard of Bizzie Lizzie! I wonder how well she’d do in today’s market.
    My role model was/is Raggedy Ann. I like to flop around relaxedly and cuddle. ;-)

    I don’t think she was around very long – couple years maybe, and she was probably before your time. :)

    I had a Raggedy Ann! Flopping around and cuddling – oh you’d be a big hit here! We LOVE to do that! :D

  3. This has been a topic of discussion a lot lately in my mind – ‘what I thought I would be’ and ‘what I actually ended up doing’…

    I never aspired to be like any of my dolls, though I had many, I was all about the GI Joes and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles action figures, I wanted to be a bad-ass that fought crime.

    That’s a worthy endeavor. :) Maybe you’ll end up being the mother of a bad-ass who fights crime? He’s a bit young yet but you never know. :)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,941 other followers

