Tuesday Trek

image

Lately we’ve been going back over old episodes of Star Trek: TNG on Netflix.  It’s been fun, and amusing.  I remember watching the show when it was on originally.  Now, looking back across the years, it seems a bit dated and the writing seems a bit … silly.  “Did they really get away with that?” Darc will ask. 

I noticed that it was really like a night-time soap opera.  I never caught that at the time – perhaps because I was such a big fan. 

And to think I almost missed that train!  LOL  For the first few episodes, I dug in my heels and refused to watch, thinking myself a TOS purist.  Kirk and Spock or bust!  Eventually, Picard and crew grew on me.

Don’t think I’d ever go to one of those Star Trek conventions though.  I might pull an “evil Kirk” routine like Bill Shatner did on Saturday Night Live.  Winking smile  William Shatner SNL star trek convention — chancewave.com

What about you? Would you ever go to a convention like that?

Live long and prosper!

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Just for Fun | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Trek

  1. Thumbs up and no ma’am, I never went to a convention like that!

    I would feel so out of place at one of those things too. 🙂

    Like

  2. There is only one captain of the USS Enterprise, James Tiberius Kirk.

    You know, now that I think about it, I never really thought of Picard as being the Captain of the Enterprise, because like you say, there is only 1 and that is Kirk. Shatner’s Kirk. Picard was just on Star Trek.

    Like

  3. And to expand on WIGSF’s sentiment, there is only ONE James Tiberius Kirk — William “The Shat” Shatner.

    Agreed! I like Picard, but he doesn’t belong to the Enterprise to me. Neither did the one played by Bakula.

    I’d never go to a Trekkie/nerd convention, but I keep getting offers for comicons. I can’t see it happening…

    I knew that. 🙂

    Like

  4. some of the costumes and wigs were really dopey and were hard to overlook while enjoying all the other neat stuff

    Hahahaha! Yeah, sometimes they got a little carried away on the original series! LOL Like the green girl, yuck!

    Like

  5. I love watching the ones with William Shatner, they’re hilarious. It’s a novelty, like the old Batman show that was on, where his suit was more purple. Shatner ruled! 🙂

    As for a convention… you’re damn right I would! They have had a couple here in the city, and I would love to go if I had an opportunity. And I would love to go to Comicon someday.

    I have a friend who does live-action role playing games, they meet up for battles or events throughout the spring/summer/fall occasionally… and it looks like a riot. Matt and I have been thinking about asking her how we can get involved next year.

    Brave girl! I don’t even dress up for Halloween! I could never do something like that. 🙂

    Like

    • Oooooh I *adore* Hallowe’en! I love dressing up!

      Somehow, I knew that about you. 🙂 You have that fun-loving, adventurous spirit. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

