Weekending

I played God this weekend.  Yes I did too! 

I created my own solar system.  I stuck it in the cold vacuum of space.  And when I was done, I rested.

See?  I told you!

Open-mouthed smile

My planets, however, were made from fondant, and the cold vacuum of space is my freezer.  My solar system is not quite to scale of the one we live in, and mine will ultimately rest, not hanging in space on the power of my word, but on top of my son’s birthday cake. 

When he told me what he wanted a couple of months ago, I admit I was kind of intimidated.  I’ve never worked with fondant before.  Where could I get it?  Could I make it?  I found a recipe and discovered that making fondant, even by hand without a stand mixer, is easy-peasy.  Whew!  It’s like Play-doh!  Except it’s yummy and tastes like buttercream and you can actually eat it.  Hopefully, it’ll look okay once it’s all assembled.  I’ll post pics, of course.  Smile

I wonder if God got blue under His nails too?  Hmmm.

image

And how was your weekend?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Family Life, Weekend | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekending

  1. Good for you! I can’t wait to see the finished product.

    You’re so sweet, Spark. 🙂 I posted a pic of it on my Nessipes blog. 🙂

    Like

  2. Onyx

    I thought the cake turned out amazing! It’s too cool! Such a great Mama! 🙂

    You’re so sweet to me sweetie. Thank you. 🙂 Wish you could have been here to share it with us!

    Like

  3. My cousin goes absolutely insane with the cake making. He has a video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_88S70E2GA&context=C3135ca6ADOEgsToPDskKwaOwrjPDbio2MHnVEeeGB

    You don’t get a full image of the cake until 1:49.

    Wow! You’re right, that’s insane! Talk about talent and dedication! They didn’t say how much time they put into it, but wow, what a cake!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

