Worldly Wisdom

Wisdom is ofttimes nearer when we stoop than when we soar. – William Wordsworth (1770-1850)

via Wise Old Sayings.com.

I love proverbs.  (And Proverbs.  Smile  But that’s for another blog.)  I tend to drive people crazy with my love of little proverbial sayings, those tiny bits of learned wisdom.  One I like to quote often finally landed me on Darc’s list and he told me he was going to strangle me if I ever said it again.  So I stopped.  Until the day he bit his tongue before saying it himself, lol.  Open-mouthed smile  What was it, you ask?

Better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

He was perturbed with my tendency to be a bit of a packrat.  I deplored his habit of throwing things away wily-nily before even seeing if it was useful.  He lost a pair of shoes that way once.  I had a habit of not throwing away things even though they’d long outlived any potential usefulness. 

I think we’ve learned to find the balance in the ensuing years, and life has done its part to teach us some lessons too. 

But I still love little proverbs.  Life is full of them!  And it’s full of them because they’re almost always true. 

So for today’s bit of wisdom, my thinking is that it’s in the low points of life that we learn the most.  When we’re high on success, we don’t bother to look down.  But when we’re down, we see the truths that tend to be right there in front of us, tripping us up.  So, stooping has its good points, if you think about it.  Soaring is good, and soaring is fun and we all need it from time to time, but stooping helps us grow.  If we let it.  Smile

How about you?  Any favorite little bits of wisdom?

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

 

Categories: Day to Day Life, Family Life | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Worldly Wisdom

  1. You are absolutely right. I do believe I’ve learned more in the last three months than in the entire preceding year.
    My little bit of wisdom is “Don’t let fear win.” Faith is where it’s at. If fear comes in, fight it for all you’re worth.

    Oh that’s a good one! Fear can be such a trap. Great advice, Spark! 🙂

    Like

  2. Onyx

    I love intelligent people, and people who just seem to rattle off pearls of wisdom as though they’re reading it from side notes scribbled on their palms in smudgey blue ink.

    My brother and I have a motto we’re getting tattooed in a couple weeks, “life just is, so just be.” It is what it is, and it’s best to roll with it, taking what you can from the moments to grow and be a better you.

    I like people like that too. 🙂

    Interesting motto! I don’t think I’ve heard that one before. 🙂 You’ll have to post a pic on FB when you get it done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

