Wisdom

 

In seeking wisdom thou art wise; in imagining that thou hast attained it – thou art a fool.
~Lord Chesterfield

 

 

Well, we all like to think we’re smarter than the average bear, don’t we?  Me probably more so than most.  However, can a person be wise but not smart?  I think so.  For instance, there are people who might not rate super high on the IQ scale, but would nonetheless be very wise in how they understand things.

But wisdom doesn’t necessarily come with smarts and I’m sure we can all think of one or two people we know who are pretty smart, but also pretty foolish.  I tend to feel that pretty much proves them not so smart, but that’s for another day.  Winking smile

I do think though that smart comes with wisdom.  Meaning, I think a person can be wise and that wisdom makes them smart. 

I guess it’s better to shoot for wisdom and hope the smart comes with it, rather than trying to be smart and hoping that wisdom tags along.  I believe that seldom happens.  I think people who believe themselves smart often tend to also think of themselves as wise, which is utter foolishness.

And around it goes!

I aim tall – I want to be both wise and smart! Smile  Perhaps the trick is to believe I’m neither.

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Thinking out loud | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

