Dyed and Gone

imageWell, it finally happened.  I knew that day was coming.  For 10 years I knew it was coming.  It arrived last week, quietly, sneaking in when I wasn’t looking.

“Hey guys, are you ready to color some eggs?” I asked the kids just before Easter weekend.

“Yay!” chimed the princess.  She loves doing stuff like that.

My son was silent. 

“Hon?  Are you in for coloring eggs?” I asked again.

“Um … mom?”

Boom.  There it was.  A decade in the making and you know it’s coming and it still catches you off guard.  You keep thinking, “just one more year … .” 

“It’s okay hon,” I told him.  “I get it.  I do.”

“Do you?  I just … I just feel like such a baby coloring eggs.  I mean, I don’t want to hurt your feelings and if it means a lot to you, I’ll color them with you guys.”

“Oh don’t be silly!” I told him.  “Kids grow out of things all the time!  I knew it was coming!  You keep playing your game, your sister and I will do them.” 

“Thanks mom, for understanding.” 

He hugged me and I kissed him to let him know it really was okay. 

And it is.  Still, you miss the baby days when they’re gone, despite how much you cherish the big kid days when they arrive. 

My other egg coloring buddy remains for a few more years yet so I still have some time.  After that, I’m on my own, I guess. 

I might have to hunt the eggs by myself too, after I hide them. 

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

 

Categories: Family Life, Holiday, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Dyed and Gone

  1. It’s hard to let go. I still see those babies, giggling and gurgling and laughing and playing when I see them. I guess we always will. When the princess stops wanting to dye eggs, we can do it for ourselves. I’ll hide and you hunt. 😉

    Sounds like a plan, my Love! 😀

    Like

  2. Kids grow up so quickly! I watch my friends’ kids grow up in a kind of stop-motion animation, and the leaps and bounds they make between each frame are astonishing.

    It really is amazing. I always tell new parents, “Don’t blink or you’ll miss it!”

    Like

  3. My kids wanted to dye eggs until they graduated. Unfortunately, I grew out of it before they did.

    LOL That’s so cute!

    My girlfriend assures me that boys go back to dyeing eggs in their teens so mine may come back around in a few years. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

