Whensday

I am a theme junkie.  I admit it!  I probably check out the Windows 7 themes – Microsoft Windows website every few days to see if there’s anything new.  I go to Windows 7 Themes | VikiTech.com and do the same thing.  I must have close to 200 themes now, some of which I made myself.  I change themes every couple of days.  I like the pretty, rotating pictures.  Smile

The most recent theme I got was the Animal Affection theme – Microsoft Windows.  It sounded cute.  The thumbnail looked cute. 

image

But as the pictures slowly refreshed, this one came up on my other monitor.

Two budgies kissing on a branch

And it knocked me back in time about mumble years or so, to when I was a little girl about 7 or 8.  For some reason, I got a parakeet just like the green one in the picture.  I don’t remember why I wanted the bird but I learned how to take care of him and clip his wings and clean the cage and all that goes along with taking care of birds.  I loved my bird.  I named him Sunshine.  He was my little buddy and he’d sing and sit on my shoulder while I played. 

Not long after that, I got a friend for him, a pretty little blue girl just like the one in the picture.  Not being very creative with names but thinking I was oh-so-clever, I named her Moonshine.  I thought they were very appropriate names, he with his sunny yellow colors and she with her nighttime sky palette. 

My father laughed and I didn’t know why.

My bird story ended as pretty much most bird stories do, when I was 9 or so.  But seeing that picture so unexpectedly brought so many memories rushing back.  It was like peeking into a window of my childhood.  Smile

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

 

Categories: Whensday | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Whensday

  1. mjdar

    I love themes too 😀

    But, I REALLY like this forum:
    http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/home

    You can make art/collage/fashion sets. Takes my mind off madness

    I have an account there! Based on your recommendation. 🙂 I try but I just can’t make things as pretty as you.

    We all need a little madness-cleanser, don’t we? I know how you feel.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Saturday Graphics! « The Mad Jewess

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

