Thankfulness

It’s kind of a military week for me.  There was a lot of fly-over activity in the days preceding the 11th.  It happened last year too, so I’ve come to figure it’s just something the Navy base does this time of year.  I spent a lot of time over on Pinterest looking at a bunch of military pictures for one of my boards there and that kind of stuff always makes my heart swell with pride.  Then I caught a link to an amazing video in my Reader about one of our fighter squadrons.  My kids loved it too, so I was telling them about the Blue Angels and naturally I had to find a video for that too.  They can’t wait to see them in real life now.  :)  Yay!

I could have spent all day watching the “fly-boys” do their thing. 

I didn’t grow up military, and I’m not married to a military man, and no one in my family is military anymore, so I’m not sure where this love of it comes from.  I mean, it’s not like I was bombarded with military stuff at any point in my life.  But my love for it is there.  And I am profoundly grateful for all they do for us.  For me.  For my children.  Without them, and their long history going back to the Revolutionary War, we would not be Americans today.  How in the world could I not be grateful for a huge part of my very identity?

So that’s my thankfulness for this month.  The United States Military. 

Army.  Navy.  Air Force.  Marines.  Coast Guard.

Thank you all. 

*salute*

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

military logos_500x318

 

 

[tweetmeme source=”DarcsFalcon” only_single=”false”]
Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

