Thankfulness

There is so much to be thankful for!  This past month was wonderful, what with Christmas and my beloved being on vacation, and the kids being on vacation.  Even the weather has been kind of nice, considering it’s January in Chicagoland.  Well, it’s January everywhere, heh, but usually it’s mind-bendingly cold this time of year but this year it’s been pretty decent, and almost no snow, woo! 

Today, I want to focus my thankfulness on a friend of mine.  I’ve known her … wow, will it really be 28 years this year?!  She’s loyal and generous by nature and has been a blessing to me.  We’re complete opposites, personality-wise, which has led to a conflict or 2 in our relationship but we’ve managed to overcome those.  :)  She’s on my heart in a major way because things are not going so well for her right now, especially on the health front.  She’s facing some potentially serious health issues, and her doctor wants her in for more tests.  She had to have surgery a couple of years ago, and it’s looking like she might be experiencing a recurrence.  So, she’s scared, and I’m scared for her.  She needs a blanket of blessing and if you’re the praying type, if you’d send some her way, they sure would be appreciated.

We don’t often find such faithful friends in our lives.  Haven’t we all experienced the back-stabbing kind, or the fair-weather kind?  I used to have a little joke that the best friends were the foul-weather kind, the ones who would stick by you even when life had turned against you.  I always wanted to not just have friends like that, but be a friend like that.  My friend is a friend like that, and I’m so thankful to have her in my life. 

clip_image001

Clipped from A True Friend – Cheezburger

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Digg This
Categories: Thankfulness | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Thankfulness

  1. Friends like this are rare and important to practice being one as well.

    You hit the nail on the head, Carl! 🙂

    Like

  2. Sperry

    You can count on me to pray for her!

    Thank you so much – you have no idea how much that means to me. 🙂 *hugs*

    Like

  3. I’m in on the prayer thing love. Can do it as a couple when I get home if you’d like.

    Thanks, Love! *kisses*

    Like

  4. Friends who stick around during hard times are precious. They don’t have family pressures to make them do the right thing. I see in my family that people are sometimes superficially supportive more out of obligation than genuine sympathy. Friends choose to help of their own free will.

    Obligation vs free will. So succinctly put, Spark! You hit that one right on the head! When it’s duty or obligation, it’s not love. Love is free will. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

