In Hot Water

It’s that time of year again.  I don’t know why – well, maybe I do but it still sucks – but in winter, we have a hard time getting hot water to our bathroom.  It’s no problem in the summer, oh no!  But in winter, when I’m freezing my buns off, the hot water makes itself scarce. 

I understand that our bathroom is on an outside wall.  I understand that the hot water heater is more centrally located in the apartment.  Why the hot water has cooled to a mild tepid by the time it gets to our shower is beyond me.  I have the temperature on the water heater set as high as it will go.  And I can turn the knob in the shower to be exclusively hot water – and for a couple of minutes I have blessed hot water.  Then, nothing.  No more hot water, just something that is less than skin temp so it feels almost ice cold.  *sigh*

This morning, with temps in the sub-zero range, I opted for a bath in the kid’s bathroom, which is closer to the hot water heater than our bathroom.  Of course, the hot water ran out before the tub was full, but at least I got to sit in the heat-there-was and get my feet warm! 

My dream house will have one of those flash hot water heater things, in addition to a tank.  I’m not taking any chances of running out!

Yesterday in school, I had the kids watch King’s “Dream” speech, in honor of MLK day.  I had to explain racism to them, which, when I think about it, is a good thing.  :)  They had a hard time understanding why one race of people would be treated differently than any other race.  Black skin doesn’t make you less, any more than blonde hair makes you stupid.  They notice more how a person behaves than what they look like. 

The speech, in its entirety.

 

image

Today’s sunrise.  I thought the cloud formation back there on the horizon was cool.  🙂

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Digg This
Categories: Current Events, Day to Day Life | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “In Hot Water

  1. We are so blessed with them. I’m so happy to hear they don’t know what this is or why it would be. Thank God Almighty, they are free at last.

    They really are. 🙂 It was fun to talk about it with them, too.

    Like

  2. You know, this is the first time I’ve sat down and listened to that whole speech. Thank you for the opportunity to do so.

    My first husband was (well, obviously still is) black. We were fortunate to never encounter any racism as a mixed-race couple in Toronto, in all the 12 years we were together. The worst my ex ever ran into was a) he was always picked first for teams when our mostly-white high school gym class did a basketball unit (although he had no innate basketball skills, quite the opposite in fact) and b) sometimes, late at night, in certain neighbourhoods, taxis won’t stop for him.

    I’m glad you were able to get to listen to it, Spark! It was pretty inspiring, wasn’t it? I wasn’t born yet when he gave it, and while I’ve heard numerous references to it my entire life, I’d never actually listened to it front to back until this year.

    I’m glad you never encountered racism while you were with your ex. It would be nice to think that as a society we’re not offended by things such as interracial marriages anymore. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

