Flocked Together

It’s the coolest thing.  All morning I’ve been seeing Spring birds outside my window.  Little flocks of either sparrows or chickadees – yeah I’m so not a birder! – going back and forth picking things out of the grass that’s not covered by snow. 

There have been brilliant flashes of red that I thought might be cardinals, but are more likely robins.  Either way, it’s pretty.

We even saw a couple of birds of prey circling behind the office, there’s a field back there.  They were too far for me to get a good shot, but they might have been falcons.

Everywhere I look, it’s birds.  Birds that we generally don’t see until the weather turns warmer and the snow is gone.  Yet here they are, with it looking like it does, temps barely in the 20s, with a Winter storm warning of up to 6 inches of snow on the way. 

Maybe they know something The Weather Channel doesn’t? 

I’m good with an early Spring!  Hopefully those little birds are bringing a good message.

 

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

image

Yep, this is how IL does sunrise in Winter.  Hope you like gray!  Fortunately, I do, but not every day.

[tweetmeme source=”DarcsFalcon” only_single=”false”]
Categories: Day to Day Life | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Flocked Together

  1. That’s exciting! I love birds of all types. Most birds migrate away from Toronto in the winter (smart cookies) but the pigeons and sparrows stick around. When I was out for a walk today I heard the sparrows having a noisy conference. I don’t know what they were talking about, but they certainly felt strongly about it.

    That’s how it is around here, too. It’s too cold for them in the Winter, which was why I was so surprised to see so many. It was cool!

    Oh, I bet those birdies were talking about how the neighborhoods are going to seed with so many humans moving in, lol. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

