Whensday

Apparently there’s been a bit of a buzz recently with the re-release of the Titanic movie.  I’ve seen a few articles around that talk about how so many of the people who saw the movie didn’t realize it was an actual event.  Major *facepalm* right?  LOL  I never saw the movie but I did read about the Titanic in history class.

But it reminded me of something that happened way back in the olden days, the 90s. 

Now, I don’t know about you, but when I was a teen, we all listened to that crazy rock and roll music.  Led Zeppelin, The Who, AC/DC, the Stones, Aerosmith, The Doors, et al.  Some grew out of it and some of us will keep listening to it until they pry our tapes out of our cold, dead fingers.  Rock on!  *ahem* 

Anyway, when The Doors movie came out, I insisted on seeing it.  I don’t remember a whole lot from it, but I do recall thinking that Val Kilmer did an amazing job as Jim Morrison, who died when I was a little girl, like 1971, about 20 years before the movie was made. 

As we were coming out of the theater, there was a line of people waiting to go in, and the lines were moving next to each other, just like auto traffic.  The kid in front of us saw a friend of his who was in the line going in to see the movie.  They yelled greetings to each other, and the kid in the “enter” line asked, “Hey dude, how was it?  Is it any good?” 

The kid in front of me replied, “Oh yeah, it was great, but just so you know, the guy dies at the end.”

“Aw man!  He dies?  Why’d you have to go and ruin it for me, dude!  I paid to see this and you just spoiled the end!”  And he gave his buddy a playful punch on the arm as the line moved past. 

I laughed all the way to the car.  I laughed all the way home.  I still laugh when I think about it!   Twenty years of giggles for the price of a movie ticket.  Not a bad deal!  LOL

The Doors–People Are Strange

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Memories, Whensday | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Whensday

  1. Not bad at all, I’d say. 🙂

    I’d say I got my money’s worth. 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s not like having the ending of Empire Strikes Back spoiled. “Hey buddy, Darth Vader is Luke’s father.”
    Seriously, who would watch the Doors other than a Doors fan? I never saw the movie. Never liked the Doors. Can’t stand Val Kilmer either.
    But whenever people talk about Titanic, I always say “You know the boat sinks at the end, right?” And I never saw that movie.

    All of this reminds me of an episode of the Simpsons. It was the last day of school and the kids are all running out of the class. The teacher stops them and says “Wait, you didn’t learn how World War II ended… We won!” Then the students all start cheering and rioting in the streets, flipping over cars and starting fires chanting “USA! USA!” In the grade 2 class, Miss Hoover saying “John Wilkes Booth appeared behind President Lincoln” then the bell rang. Ralph Wiggum stayed behind and asked “Was President Lincoln okay?” Miss Hoover replied “Yes Ralph, he was fine.”

    Oh, and tapes? Tapes? Who listened to Zeppelin on tape? Led Zeppelin is meant to be heard on vinyl and nothing else.


    Well, I was afraid if I said “records” that the kids today wouldn’t know what I meant.

    LOL, Lincoln was okay and we won. Gotta remember that!

    Like

  3. I work with some geniuses. One woman didn’t know when the Civil War was (“it ended in, like, 1920, or something, right?”), didn’t know who won (clue: we don’t have slaves), didn’t know how many states are in the US, or what the stars on the flag symbolize.

    That is so depressing. My 6 y/o knew at least how many states there are, but – as expected – she didn’t know the other stuff. But, she’s 6. And she just got a tiny history lesson. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.