Daily Archives: May 12, 2008

Blogging Withdrawal

I miss my blog. As I write this, I’ve been offline for about 2½ weeks, with about a week left to go. What’s going on in the world? What are all of you doing? How are you doing?

What’s it like to be offline, you ask? I’ve come to the conclusion that blogging is almost like an addiction. If you do it regularly, it becomes a habit, and if you have to stop suddenly, there are withdrawal symptoms. A cleaner house, for one thing. A much neater desk for another. Dinners on time. The kids’ toyboxes have been sorted and organized. Those patches I’ve been meaning to put on my son’s pants have been sewn on. I organized my comp desktop and start menu. And I’ve been able to read the books I got from the library. Oh, and check this out – the bed is made and there aren’t any dirty dishes in the sink and it’s only 7 AM. The kids have been in bed before 10 PM, for the past few nights, and I’ve managed to get there before midnight. I don’t know why I’m up so early today. I was having a weird dream I think when the Beloved’s alarm went off, and just couldn’t get back into a deep sleep. Something about headless Barbies. Probably a sign that the 50,000 times the kids have watched “A Nightmare Before Christmas” is getting to me. They bop around the house all day singing songs from the movie – even the baby has them memorized! I get the “Oogey Boogey” song stuck in my head too.

Darc managed to get a short story written for someone on DeviantArt. It was a kiriban thing. Yeah, I had to look it up too. In case you don’t know, a kiriban is something like an award, and lots of people over on DA like to give them for things like when a person generates the 6,000th pageview. So he wrote this short story for the person who was his 5,555th pageview, and I have to tell you, I cried when I read it. Hopefully he’ll post it here on WP when we get back online so you can read it too.

Speaking of Darc, you’ll never guess what he told me: he said my blog is lifeless. He said something happens between my mouth and my fingers because I don’t blog like I speak. He’s right, I know. I can feel it when I type. It’s like there’s this thing in my head that tells me sentences have to be structured a certain way, grammar needs to be proper. He told me I can tell a funny story, but I can’t write it. Something happens in the translation, so I’m trying to work on that.

It’s funny – I have about 5 dozen things in my Live Writer drafts folder, and can’t think of much to say. Granted, lots of those drafts are those lame-ass quiz things I like so much, but still. You’d think someone as opinionated as me would have more to spew about. Ah well, give me time, I’m bound to come up with something. 😉

And since you’re reading this, that means I’m back online now!

humorous pictures

more cat pictures

Mwuhahaha, the Falcon has returned and there’s nothing you can do about it!

Categories: Family Life, Woo! | 5 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.