Daily Archives: May 30, 2008

MOPAR

Miscellaneous Oddball Posts Assembled Recklessly.  Yeah, I needed something to post about for Friday and couldn’t come up with a thing, so I thought I could just throw a bunch of stuff together and maybe I’d have something good.  Sort of like a stew.  Sure.  You’re with me, right?  😉

First I want to send a quick note …

Dear Subway;

Mm-mm Quiznos

Love, A homeschool mom.

Have you seen all the flap about Subway, who can’t even spell United States correctly on their website, (which has since been corrected but man, what a joke!) about banning home schools from their latest contest?  Here’s some links for you: Avoiding humiliation for the public schools?; Subway Bans Homeschooled Kids from Essay Contest; Why are Homeschoolers so Touchy about Subway’s Snub?

 

Sick of gas prices?  Here’s a place you can let your feelings be known – Congress!  Check out this website: Gas Price Protest

 

What is it about new notebooks that I find so doggone exciting?  All that pure unadulterated paper just waiting for me to write on it … sigh.  Yeah, I know, I’m one sick lady.  But I can’t help it, and I found a notebook at Walgreens a few weeks ago that just floats my boat.  It’s imitation pink leather with little starry sparkles all over it – you should see it in the light!  It’s like a little jewel, it’s so pretty and girly.  (They have blue and lavender too)  And I’m afraid to write in it.  Dork.  Only my metallic gel pens will do for this notebook.  Want one?  Go here!  Or your local Walgreens.

 369141

 

The other day, I heard my son singing a little familiar tune, the Spiderman Theme song … except he was singing it like this: “Meeee, Meeee, radioactive Meeee.”  Identity crisis in the making?  I dunno.  When the baby sees the beginning of the Spiderman movie she cries, “Look!  It’s me!  There’s my name!”  But then, one time she popped into the smoking room where I was indulging my habit, while she was wearing the black Spiderman costume we got for our son a couple of years ago.  The door flew open and she exclaimed, “Hello my dear!  I’m Venom!”  Sometimes my son calls me Spider-mom, and my husband feels a bit weird when the boy calls me Mary Jane or MJ, but the baby calls me that occasionally too.  Being the mom, I guess by default I get cast as the female lead.  Ha.  My kids are cute, I swear, but you’d never know it from these pictures.  This is the way I pretty much get to see them the most, unless they switch costumes and my son is Spiderman and my daughter is black Spidey.  But they love each other so I try not to complain.  Spidey’s cool.  Hey, it could be worse, right?  😉

MVC-002F MVC-003F

 

The other day I had the kids do some crafty type things … with markers.  They had fun, and it kept them out of trouble for a few minutes.  But when I turned around I saw this: 2008-05-29d You should have seen her jump when I cried out, “What are you doing?!”  She hit the ceiling she jumped so high!  Oh my, I had a good chuckle out of that one! 

 

I uninstalled that Scrapbook thing for Firefox I told you about.  It’s a really cool add-on, but it comes with like, a 50 page .pdf user manual.  I figured that was too much trouble for an add-on.  If it was something I could use for say, a paying job, that’d be different.  But for personal bookmarks, I didn’t want to go through that much trouble.  The Google Notebooks feature does pretty similar things, at least for what I wanted to accomplish.  The other add-ons I mentioned in that previous post rock though.  🙂  Especially the SpeedDial one.  I d/l another one today, called DashBlog that I’m hoping to play with in the next couple of days.  It looks too cool for me to pass up, something right up my alley.  I’ll let you know, but then, you knew that, right?  😉

 

Thanks for the laughs, Harvey, I will miss you.  Emmy-Winning Actor Harvey Korman Dead at 81  The Carol Burnett Show was one of my absolute favorites when I was a kid and I probably laughed more watching an episode of that show than I did in a whole month. 

 

Now to figure out what to post for next week … anything you’d like to see?  Have a great weekend all!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Just for Fun | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.