This Week’s Thoughts

Who could think of Elizabeth Taylor and not think of beauty?  Violet eyes and coal black hair.  She had a glamour and a certain charisma that many have tried to copy, and most have failed.  She was a lovely child who grew into a beautiful woman, seeming to skip that awkward teen phase all together. 

And the era’s end caught me by surprise.  So, Adieu Miss Elizabeth.  We bid you sweet farewell.

Elizabeth Taylor was born with it, but the rest of us have to work at it.  Even at that we probably barely get a passing grade in comparison!  LOL  I found these beauty tips online and thought I’d share them with you.

11 one-ingredient DIY face masks

4 Do-It-Yourself Hair Remedies

For sure I am going to try some of these!  Ha, I even remember the girls using some of these tricks back in the 70s, when the whole “natural” movement started. 

More important than outer beauty though, is inner beauty.  Some people ignore that, have you noticed?  We need to cultivate that too.  Kindness, compassion, empathy.  Too bad there’s not an avocado mask for any of those!  Those require real work!  It’s kind of sad, I think, that our society doesn’t seem to reward that kind of beauty as much as it does the outer beauty of a person. 

All rights reserved by DarcsFalcon

Categories: Celebrity, In The News, Thinking out loud | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “This Week’s Thoughts

  1. If I think of Elizabeth Taylor, first thing that comes to mind is her appearances on The Simpsons. You know, she was the voice of Maggie Simpson when Maggie spoke her first word. She also appeared as herself in another episode. She was cleaning a giant diamond ring while watching Hugh Hefner play the water glasses on the Krusty comeback special. Her non-appearance on the special made her question firing her agent.

    And inner beauty? Please. You ever seen what a person looks like on the inside? It’s all bloody and gooey. Things throbbing. Not pretty, not pretty at all.

    I remember her Simpsons appearances! Of course I knew she did baby Maggie’s first word. 🙂 “Daddy.” It was sweet.

    Yeah, inside out people are kinda scary looking. I totally agree. That’s why I never went into medicine. I like insides on the inside, where they belong.

    Like

  2. RIP, Elizabeth Taylor.

    She will be missed.

    Like

  3. I don’t believe I have ever seen any of her movies. I will make an attempt to remedy that soon.

    You know … I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen any of her movies either! I do remember her being in all the tabloids and things like that, interviews, but movies? Not so much. There must have been at least one!

    Like

  4. Onyx

    Never seen one of her movies, either.

    I love natural beauty concoctions! I am always looking for an all-natural option, or how to make greener changes in my life.

    I grew up with that whole natural thing. When you learn a bit about it you realize there’s nothing new about it – these are the kinds of things women – people – did for centuries. Nearly all of our medical and cosmetic stuff is based on what we gleaned from the natural world, plants and animals. For instance, the heart medicine digitalis, comes from the plant foxglove. Women used to take arsenic in tiny doses because it was thought to make your skin nice. All kinds of things! So in a way, if you’re not “being green,” you still are because that’s pretty much why we have now the things we have. 🙂 Sometimes using the substitute is better than destroying the plant or animal to get at the resource.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.